Serart / Serart
Album: Serart   Collection:World
Artist:Serart   Added:Jul 2003
Label:Serjical Strike Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2003-08-11 Pull Date: 2003-10-13 Charts: Reggae/World
Week Ending: Sep 7 Aug 24 Aug 17
Airplays: 1 1 3

Recent Airplay
1. Nov 06, 2010: Music Casserole
Devil's Wedding
4. Aug 18, 2003: Fly By Night
The Walking Xperiment
2. Oct 02, 2010: Music Casserole
The Walking Xperiment
5. Aug 15, 2003: The Back Of The Class
Facing the Plastic
3. Sep 02, 2003: At the Cafe Bohemian
Devil's Wedding
6. Aug 13, 2003: press and release
Devil's Wedding

Album Review
Reviewed 2003-08-05
Fascinating collaboration from Serj Tankian (from System of a Down) and Arto Boyaciyan. An experimental mix that includes Middle Eastern beats, spoken words, metal, programming, even a hint of jazz. There’s a DVD (which I haven’t watched). The songs are hard to describe because they change tempo & sounds so often. Great stuff, though…one star each track.

1. Short intro for keyboards.
2. Screaming metal, mid-eastern beats, a hint of Japan.
3. Afro percussion/electric guitars. Driving.
4. Jazz-influenced, more low key, atmospheric.
5. Spare chanting, gongs, flute, strings. Then more melodic.
6. Short w/percussion & sound bite about fight. Goes into 7.
7. Rock at heart, w/tempo changes & weird vocals.
8. Combat sounds, slow male chant w/a Native American feel
9. Choppy tempos rock interposed w/folk.
10. Instrumental for guitars. Mid-tempo…too short.
11. Nature sounds, flutes. Spoken word.
12. Starts slow, gets into an electronic groove.
13. Fast percussion/vocals. Wow.
14. Eventually a driving mix of rock w/Arabic beats.
15. Fast layers of wailing vocals chanting in counter-point.
16. Great percussion. Chorus Afro-influenced, mid-tempo.

Track Listing
1. Intro   9. Leave Melody Counting Fear
2. Cinema   10. Gee-Tar
3. Devil's Wedding   11. Claustrophobia
4. The Walking Xperiment   12. Narina
5. Black Melon   13. Zumba
6. Metal Shock   14. Facing the Plastic
7. Save the Blonde   15. If You Can Catch Me
8. Love Is the Peace   16. I Don't Want to Go Back...