Comets on Fire / Comets on Fire
Album: Comets on Fire   Collection:General
Artist:Comets on Fire   Added:Jul 2003
Label:Alternative Tentacles Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2003-08-25 Pull Date: 2003-10-27
Week Ending: Oct 26 Oct 19 Oct 12 Oct 5 Sep 28 Sep 21 Sep 14 Sep 7
Airplays: 1 2 2 3 2 2 1 6

Recent Airplay
1. Jul 17, 2010: Scatterbrain Radio
The Way Down
4. May 21, 2008: nag champa orangeasm
2. May 28, 2009: best of orangeasm part i
5. Mar 22, 2007: Fiction Romance
One Foot
3. Jun 05, 2008: A2Z
6. Mar 15, 2007: Fiction Romance
Lets Take It All

Album Review
Your Imaginary Friend
Reviewed 2003-08-12
A ball’s out garage band on crank, glue and PCP. The music is simple psyche garage, swampy sometimes, but its all cranked out with crazy distorted vocs run through a delay box. In fact, when they perform live there is one guy who’s job is to just run the knobs on the delay box (which I would bet my life is an old BOSS DM-2 for you gear geeks out there) which becomes a delay/feedback repeat noise instrument in itself, almost usurping the vocals. So everything swirls and blurps and kerrangs and this whole recording is a beautiful mess of craziness. And these freaks are local to boot! Every track on this is guaranteed to give you an acid, nitrous oxide flashback. Play them all!! Note: last track is ~5:00, followed by ~2min of silence then an entire set of “hidden” live recordings that rawk!

1) ultra amped up garage rock with lots o’ noise
2) balls out again, a tad more wanky guit and echoed vocs, super cool epic ending
3) slow dirgey sludge fest
4) (combine with track 5) a tad swampy with a cowbell even, ends cold because it fades into next track which you should play too
5) brief continuation of previous, a boom box recorded acoustic version
6) slow dirty blues
7) the crazy upbeat garage is back with force
8) cranked up a notch: this one borders on punk 2/4, intense
9) slower fucked up swingy, just wrong
10) upbeat rock with some bluesy licks, ends at ~5:00, ~2min of silence then obligatory not-so-“hidden” track: live recordings of rawking ass swingy near swamp, really great stuff

Track Listing
1. All I Need   6. Lets Take It All
2. Graverobbers   7. The Way Down
3. One Foot   8. Comets on Fire
4. Got a Feelin   9. Ghost of the Cosmos
5. Rimbaud Blues   10. Days of Vapors