Surface of Eceyon / Dragyyn
Album: Dragyyn   Collection:General
Artist:Surface of Eceyon   Added:Jun 2003
Label:Strange Attractors Audio  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2003-11-24 Pull Date: 2004-01-26
Week Ending: Jan 11 Jan 4 Dec 28 Dec 14 Nov 30
Airplays: 2 1 1 2 2

Recent Airplay
1. Apr 23, 2004: Distraction-Limited
Stolen Wind
4. Jan 02, 2004: Distraction-Limited
Over Land. Over Ice
2. Jan 09, 2004: Distraction-Limited
Over Land. Over Ice
5. Dec 24, 2003: press and release
Stolen Wind
3. Jan 07, 2004: Brownian Motion
Freeing the Winds
6. Dec 12, 2003: Distraction-Limited
Freeing the Winds

Album Review
Reviewed 2003-11-26
GREAT!!! With members of Yume Bitsu and Landing, Surface of Eceyon construct ambient landscapes which evolve into spacey post-rock guitar grooves. Guitars here alternate between twangy, noisy textures and sweet, tranquil noodling with a touch of jazz. This is really well executed and has some breathtakingly gorgeous moments. Think also of Tortoise and Neu.
6, 3, 1.

1. starts off atmospheric, then midtempo steady beat w/ twangy guitars droning noises and melodies. builds and builds. great!
2. serene and ambient, w/ layered gentle echoey guitar noodlings
3. slow fade in of slow pretty groove of layered guitars. hints of tortoise here. Breaks down to echoey pretty ambient, delayed guitars.
4. tremolo on hard distorted guitar for a while then slow drony groove
5. quiet ambient background with minimal, sweet guitar harmonies
6. slow fade in, ambient, then kraut-rock droning groove builds. great!

Track Listing
1. Stolen Wind   4. Victory of Ice and Magyk
2. Council Is Called   5. By a Curious Vessyl
3. Over Land. Over Ice   6. Freeing the Winds