Eluvium / Lambent Material
Album: Lambent Material   Collection:General
Artist:Eluvium   Added:Jun 2003
Label:Temporary Residence Ltd.  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2003-09-29 Pull Date: 2003-12-01 Charts: Classical/Experimental
Week Ending: Nov 23 Nov 16 Oct 5
Airplays: 1 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Jun 04, 2015: The Final Sunset
I Am So Much More Me that Yo
4. Aug 18, 2014: The Sunset Life
I Am So Much More Me that Yo
2. Apr 30, 2015: The Sunset Life
The Unfinished
5. Feb 25, 2013: The Sunset Life
There Wasn't Anything, Under the Water It Glowed, The Unfinished
3. Dec 09, 2014: The Sunset Life
Under the Water It Glowed
6. Oct 04, 2012: The Sunset Life
I Am So Much More Me that Yo

Album Review
Reviewed 2003-09-30
Lambent Material is very poignant and beautiful ambient music from this Portland, Oregon, artist. The tone is one of nostalgia, longing, and introspection. Produced mostly by delayed keyboards and guitars, sounds range from smooth and comforting to noisy and captivating. Never does it become harsh, but instead often settles for modest understatement. Easily comparable to Brian Eno. All good, but I particularly liked 4, 2, 5.

1. slow arching, soft keyboard w/ organ buzz standing out. doesn’t change much but instead works to create a sad, nostalgic aura.
2. atmospheric backdrop w/ detuned reverby guitar and really cool feedback (gentle) howls layered on top of each other. pining.
3. slow piano ballad w/ some room sounds, breathy clarinet comes in
4. long piece. beautiful white noisy wall of sound really nicely done, gains in midrange to reveal the source guitar and continues building. great texture of static-y distorted guitar-produced ambience.
5. yearning repeated keyboard notes. works well as understatement.

Track Listing
1. The Unfinished   3. There Wasn't Anything
2. Under the Water It Glowed   4. Zerthis Was a Shivering Huma
  5. I Am So Much More Me that Yo