Ring, Cicada / Good Morning, Mr. Good
Album: Good Morning, Mr. Good   Collection:General
Artist:Ring, Cicada   Added:Jun 2003
Label:54 Degrees 40' or Fight!  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2003-07-14 Pull Date: 2003-09-15
Week Ending: Aug 17 Aug 10 Aug 3 Jul 27 Jul 20
Airplays: 1 1 1 2 1

Recent Airplay
1. Aug 13, 2003: Bite and Hide
I Can Hear You Breathin'
4. Jul 23, 2003: Arabian Nights
La Renard
2. Aug 06, 2003: press and release
I Can Hear You Breathin'
5. Jul 21, 2003: Radio Red Well
3. Jul 27, 2003: To the Moon
6. Jul 17, 2003: Off the Path
La Renard

Album Review
Reviewed 2003-07-16
Recorded by Steve Albini, Ring, Cicada offers some decently hard math rock from the Midwest, with leanings in prog rock and metal. Mostly instrumental with a few vocal tracks, some songs are concise and well done while others are mediocre. Track #1 is by far the best song. After that, they seem to be aiming for a specific sound without any real innovation. The promo note’s reference to Polvo and Shellac is total self-flattery. 1, 10, 2, 9

1. catchy vocals, great mathy groove. well written song.
2. midtempo instrumental hard and relentless
3. another relentless instrumental, anthemic
4. slow intro builds into a poppy swung groove, ends slow
5. repetitive prog instrumental, with start stop transitions
6. midtempo with vocals. steady riff, ends sweet
7. nice and hard, lots of trills, catchy metal with solo at end.
8. funny chord progression, kind of metal.
9. lazy midtempo with decent vocals, prog/math at end
10. nice opening riff, great mathy changes, pretty hard.
11. poppy chord progression, too typical.

Track Listing
1. La Renard   6. I Remember
2. Esoterrorism   7. Shadows
3. Flinch   8. Lunar
4. March   9. I Can Hear You Breathin'
5. Flashback   10. Independence
  11. Worldwide Skin