Numbers / Ee-Uh!
Album: Ee-Uh!   Collection:General
Artist:Numbers   Added:Jun 2003
Label:Troubleman Unlimited  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2003-06-09 Pull Date: 2003-08-11
Week Ending: Aug 17 Aug 10 Aug 3 Jul 27 Jul 20 Jul 13 Jul 6 Jun 29
Airplays: 1 2 3 2 2 1 4 3

Recent Airplay
1. Mar 07, 2008: Memory Select
4. Nov 08, 2005: eclectica
At the Mall
2. Dec 15, 2006: Memory Select - guest Amy X. Neuburg
At the Mall
5. Aug 01, 2005: Stirling's Approximation
3. Aug 10, 2006: Cognitive Overload
6. May 31, 2005: Eclectica

Album Review
Your Imaginary Friend
Reviewed 2003-06-06
The next big thing: Local trio, guit, moog, female singing drummer. Angular dissonant electronic no wave but with a distinct modern noise rock, electro gloss (I am NOT going to say “electroclash”). Major Gang of Four’isms, with a smattering of Devo, Wolf Eyes and especially DNA. This cd is a 12” 45 EP, one side (tracks 1-3) being studio and the other remaining tracks being live recordings (one of which is entitled “Palo Alto” of all things). This band is great live: in front is Moog that growls and screams (making me reflect that it was invented without any notion that it would be put to such use some day, but Mr Moog is no doubt smiling in heaven now), a guitarist that channels Gang of Four and a foxy woman drummer who sings lead while kicking off-time dissonant beats everywhere. I must admit, they have all the markings of a band that may get hyped, like the Yeahs*3. But in this case this band is actually great. All tracks are good, but I prefer the studio recordings.

1) upbeat urgent driving
2) halting off-beat, gang of four’ish instrumental
3) off beat drums, gets noisy
4) lower fi, upbeat driving w/ changes
5) more midpaced off kilter, moog in front
6) slower, mid

Track Listing
1. Insomnia   4. Palo Alto
2. Ee-Uh!   5. Information
3. At the Mall   6. We Like Having These Things