Jooya, Zohreh & M. Derakhshani / Music of the Persian Mystics
Album: Music of the Persian Mystics   Collection:World
Artist:Jooya, Zohreh & M. Derakhshani   Added:May 2003
Label:Arc Music Inc.  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2003-12-08 Pull Date: 2004-02-09 Charts: Reggae/World
Week Ending: Jan 4 Dec 21
Airplays: 1 2

Recent Airplay
1. Mar 01, 2011: anti-heroine
Tonight I Am So Enraptured
4. May 25, 2004: Sun in Libra Moon in Pisces
Tonight I Am So Enraptured
2. Jun 20, 2009: No Cover, No Minimum: Weekend Edition
Tonight I Am So Enraptured
5. Mar 13, 2004: Morning Glory
Let Go
3. Dec 11, 2007: "In Your Ear ..." with David Bug, dear john and the other hipsters up/down there
My Soul
6. Jan 02, 2004: The sound of one hand clapping
Tonight I Am So Enraptured, Let Go, In My Heart Is Room for no O

Album Review
Reviewed 2003-11-12
Formal, ceremonious music of Persia. Traditional sounds touched up with a bit of modernity. Artfully poetic lyrics written in the 13th and 14th centuries (translations provided in booklet).

1. Slow march
2. Mellow instrumental interlude
3. Sinuous sax, longing vocals, stately mid-tempo
4. Pained phrasing by singer, melancholy oud picking
5. Mournful cellos and funereal tempo
6. Lovely restrained saxophone instrumental
7. Large arrangement, dense with detail
8. Subdued sax and male and femal vocals
9. Nondescript dance tune
10. Slight solo on tar, a string instrument
11. Faster tempo, strings
12. Instrumental improvisation with tabla that reminds you where Persia is – smack dab between the Arab and Indian worlds.

Track Listing
1. I Am Baffled About You   7. Tonight I Am So Enraptured
2. Bidad   8. Praying, Hiyayesh
3. In My Heart Is Room for no O   9. Thou Passest Through Me
4. Aziz, for My Beloved   10. Be My Light
5. My Soul   11. Bon Voyage
6. Nava   12. Let Go