Afro Celts / Seed
Album: Seed   Collection:General
Artist:Afro Celts   Added:May 2003
Label:Realworld Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2003-07-28 Pull Date: 2003-09-29
Week Ending: Sep 28 Sep 21 Aug 17 Aug 10 Aug 3
Airplays: 1 1 2 1 2

Recent Airplay
1. Oct 02, 2003: The Return of 15 Miles til Sunday
4. Aug 14, 2003: Trip Over Zero
2. Sep 24, 2003: press and release
5. Aug 11, 2003: Fly By Night
The Other Side
3. Sep 19, 2003: 15 Miles til Sunday - Happy Trails
6. Aug 07, 2003: Off the Path

Album Review
Mandy Khoshnevisan
Reviewed 2003-08-04
Afrocelts, Seed
Used to be the AfroCelt Sound System but they've gone through a change . . . African and Irish/Celtic instruments meet synth beats and lush electronic sounds. Lots of bagpipe, pennywhistle, and guitar. All tracks are good; just depends what you want to use them for.

* 1. Cyberia—spacy computer sounds; slow non-tempo soarings with distorted lyrics; eventually a steady electronic beat with acoustic guitar; electronic-sounding African-sounding words in background. Ends w/ acoustic and piano, some flute and spanishy guitar; becomes more lyrics, more flamenco-sounding, Loooong track.
* 2. Seed—elec. Guitar w/ reverb, male African lyrics, some acoustic flamenco sounds, lots of reverb; midtempo; rich, warm, dark sounding; bagpipe visits, and flute
3. Nevermore—mid-uptempo, steady beat with echoes of flute and bamboo sounds; sweet reverb female voice singing slowly; then male voices; singing lyrics that are in English, and kinda silly. Guitar and light electronic beats. Lady singing in Italian? Celtic flute; bell tones. Song full of echoes.
4. * The Other Side—cute small flute/ wood block fast hushed intro; enter guitar, metallic drumming, tambourine, echoes of voices, enter lyrics, groups singing in non-English; quick drumming tempo, pennywhistle enters lightly near end; comes back with coda of lyrics at end.
* 5. 5a. Ayub’s Song 5b. As You Were—serene-sounding, some buzzy string instrument, sounds kinda beachy; more enter and complicate; you can hear fingers moving on the strings. Earnest male voice sings in non-English; second half is a quiet celtic fiddle/pennywhistle reel, with guitar in background.
6. Rise—starts real quiet; wavering synth chords; enter first notes of leisurely string instrument solo; 2 minutes in, quiet male voice singing in gaelic enters as strings stop. Segues pretty seamlessly into the next track
7. Rise Above It—chords continue from the track before, but covered with more percussion and guitar—it now has a driving beat. Kinda nonsensical lyrics in English enter 2:20 in; rock-y male voice; Rise Above It! Violin. Some buzzy electric synth and a male voice singing in African language. Sounds like U2. the most lyric-heavy track. Loooong too.g
8. Deep Channel—I forgot what I have to say about this track.
9. All Remains—ditto from track 8.
* 10. Green (Nevermore Instrumental) The same as track 3, but instrumental. I like it better than track 3.

Track Listing
1. Cyberia   6. Rise
2. Seed   7. Rise Above It
3. Nevermore   8. Deep Channel
4. The Other Side   9. All Remains
5. Ayub's Song   10. Green