Arab Strap / Monday at the Hug & Pint
Album: Monday at the Hug & Pint   Collection:General
Artist:Arab Strap   Added:May 2003
Label:Matador Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2003-06-23 Pull Date: 2003-08-25
Week Ending: Aug 3 Jul 20 Jul 13 Jul 6 Jun 29
Airplays: 2 1 3 2 1

Recent Airplay
1. Feb 06, 2022: Alien Hour
4. Jul 03, 2006: knifefishhappyhour
The Week Never Starts Round
2. Mar 28, 2009: The Twilight Zone
The Shy Retirer
5. Apr 14, 2006: The Top Shelf
The Week Never Starts Round
3. May 07, 2007: Spindrift's Demo
The Shy Retirer
6. Mar 27, 2006: knifefishhappyhour
Who Named the Days?

Album Review
Reviewed 2003-07-02
This is the fifth album from the sad indie Scottish duo, and it’s excellent. The sad, drunk bastard continues singing, with disgustingly miserable lyrics on top of varying textures and tempos of arpeggiated guitars, drum machine, and string or horn arrangements. While some songs fit nicely into the [sad voice + guitar + beat] type from their other albums, other songs are more orchestrated with strings, piano, and spaced out washy backgrounds. Think at times of Black Heart Procession, Palace, Mogwai, Nick Cave. I love it!
6, 3, 10, 12, 8, 2.

1. midtempo dance beat, strings, arpeggiated acoustic.
2. slow acoustic and voice, gets deep and spacey at end.
3. midtempo accented beat, distorted guitar, drony bass. great wall
of sound midway a la mogwai. Last minute is near silence...
4. slow 3/4 drum machine. guitar, quiet piano, nice drony sounds in
background, strings at end
5. midtempo dance beat with drums. guitar, piano, steady vocals.
6. sad vocal ballad w/ drums, guitar, moaning cello, violin. beautiful.
7. instrumental with bagpipe and drony strings, heavy reverb.
8. slow 3/4 ballad with accordion and violin. sounds scottish.
9. slow drum machine, quiet guitars, spacey simmery background
10. slow 6/8 with prominent strings, slide guitar, drums, some horns.
11. dancy drum machine, strings, piano, guitar. washes out at end.
12. catchy indie barsong feel with piano, guitar, drums, horn.
13. incomplete feeling with quiet guitar, acoustic, vocals, horns at end.
30 sec of crowd sounds at end.

Track Listing
1. The Shy Retirer   7. {Loch Leven Intro}
2. Meanwhile at the Bar, a Drun   8. Loch Leven
3. Fucking Little Bastards   9. Glue
4. Peep-Peep   10. Act of War
5. Flirt   11. Serenade
6. Who Named the Days?   12. The Week Never Starts Round
  13. Pica Luna