New Pornographers / Electric Version
Album: Electric Version   Collection:General
Artist:New Pornographers   Added:May 2003
Label:Matador Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2003-06-09 Pull Date: 2003-08-11
Week Ending: Aug 10 Aug 3 Jul 27 Jul 20 Jul 13 Jul 6 Jun 29 Jun 22
Airplays: 2 6 1 4 2 4 3 4

Recent Airplay
1. Nov 18, 2022: The Great British Breakfast
The Laws Have Changed
4. Jul 08, 2011: Wee Animalcules
From Blown Speakers
2. Feb 04, 2012: The Groove Machine
From Blown Speakers
5. Jun 03, 2011: The DJ Never Has It
Testament to Youth in Verse
3. Oct 01, 2011: Post-Football Short Set
The Laws Have Changed
6. Mar 29, 2011: Indie English
July Jones

Album Review
Eric K!
Reviewed 2003-06-01
_Electric Version_ is the second release from the Canadain power-pop supergroup, The New Pornographers. The New Pornographers feature Carl Newman (of Zumpano), Dan Bejar (of Destroyer), and the inimitable Neko
Case. _Electric Version_ is a very solid album of hooky, clever. power-pop. Everything on here is catchy, upbeat, and fun.
For better or for for worse, _Electric Version_ is not a repeat of the New Pornographer's debut _Mass Romantic_. _EV_ is a much more polished album, but it also missing a lot of the odd arrangements and production
touches that made _Mass Romantic_ such a gem.
Stand-out tracks: 12!, 6, 2, 3, 4, 9

1. Insistent, with Carl's falsetto vocals. Neat keyboards and a wonderful chorus.
2. Great dramatic track with instantly memorable chorus, weird synths
3. Neko sings! Quirky keyboard, noisy guitars, driven. Great groove.
4. Crunchy keyboard-driven track. Noisy break in the middle of the song. Noisy outtro that just dissolves.
5. Bowie-informed track with unnerving keyboard groove. Kinda aimless.
6. Dan sings this classic track. Glammy male vocals. Background "ooh-ooh"'s. Male vocals, Neko sings on chorus.
7. Driving track with Neko vocals.
8. Crunchy track with oddly detached vocals.
9. Glammy, clever. Dan attempts a sad and meaningful song about listening to the radio.
10. Hard-rocking, lots of good ideas in the jam near the end, but somehow the song doesn't click.
11. Gentler, lyrics (when they can be understood) seem a little more meaningful. Bowiesque.
12. Weird, majestic with a detached, otherworldy dub reggae feel.
13. Neko back in her Belinda-Carlisle-as-a-robot mode! Cute lyrics.

Track Listing
1. The Electric Version   6. Testament to Youth in Verse
2. From Blown Speakers   7. It's Only Divine Right
3. The Laws Have Changed   8. Ballad of a Comeback Kid
4. All for Swinging You Around   9. July Jones
5. The New Face of Zero and One   10. Miss Teen Wordpower