Lowlights / Lowlights
Album: Lowlights   Collection:General
Artist:Lowlights   Added:Apr 2003
Label:Darla Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2003-06-09 Pull Date: 2003-08-11
Week Ending: Jul 27 Jul 20 Jul 13 Jul 6 Jun 29 Jun 15
Airplays: 2 1 2 1 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Oct 07, 2004: Fiction Romance
Last and Alone
4. Aug 23, 2003: In the Leaves
How Does It Feel
2. May 07, 2004: Distraction-Limited
Wave Goodbye
5. Jul 26, 2003: In the Leaves
Wave Goodbye
3. Oct 29, 2003: In the Leaves
How Does It Feel
6. Jul 23, 2003: press and release
In the Distance

Album Review
Eric K!
Reviewed 2003-06-01
Lowlights is a dreamy indie-country band from Humbolt County, CA fronted by Dameon Lee of Scared of Chaka. _Lowlights_, recorded by Dustin Reske of Rocketship, is a fantastic debut album. Obvious comparisons: a more sincere Court & Spark, a detached and spacey Sadies, a very sad Beachwood Sparks. Whatever. _Lowlights_ is an album of moody atmospheric pieces (1,4,6) and gloomy country-influenced pop songs (3,7,11,12) all with a heavy-reverb parched psychedelic American Southwest feel.
There is a kind of similarity to the songs. Most of them are _slow_. With few exceptions, they begin with spare acoustic guitars and treated vocals. Electric instruments join in later. There are often weird, detached instrumental breaks in the songs.
If you like this album, check out Lowlights' take on "Catch the Wind" on the Donovan tribute.

Stand-out tracks: 12, 8, 2, 9, 6, 9, 10, 11

1. Spacious with a spaghetti western feel. Spooky treated vocals.
2. Sad, pedal-steel, catchy melody
3. Acoustic driven, catchy
4. shimmering, slow, horns at end, spacey
5. short pop song, acoustic intro, spooky
6. slow; parched, desert feeling
7. More of a pop song, spooky
8. Long intro, song begins 1:00 into track, sweet vocals, ringing guitar. Sad, moving.
9. weird female-sounding vocals, minimal accompaniment, short with sudden ending
10. draggy, philosophical pop song. Organ-driven
11. More dramatic, acoustic groove
12. acoustic until the very end, sad, epic, pedal-steel accompaniment

Track Listing
1. In the Distance   7. Last and Alone
2. Wave Goodbye   8. Tranelogue
3. Dim Stars   9. Wheelbarrow
4. Brown Eyes   10. Too Late
5. Restless and Young   11. Flowers in Her Hair
6. Gare Du Nord   12. How Does It Feel