Kills, the / Keep on Your Mean Side
Album: Keep on Your Mean Side   Collection:General
Artist:Kills, the   Added:Apr 2003
Label:Rough Trade  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2003-05-26 Pull Date: 2003-07-28
Week Ending: Jul 27 Jul 20 Jul 13 Jun 22 Jun 8 Jun 1
Airplays: 1 1 1 1 1 4

Recent Airplay
1. Aug 23, 2011: changin' it up (part two)
4. Feb 13, 2007: Lost and Found
Kissy Kissy
2. Feb 17, 2011: BBW Radio: The Kenyatta Regatta
Monkey 23
5. Jan 21, 2005: Midnight Meanderings
Kissy Kissy
3. Jul 15, 2010: Value Machine
Kissy Kissy
6. Jan 13, 2005: Fiction Romance

Album Review
Your Imaginary Friend
Reviewed 2003-05-21
London arteests pretending they are from NYC- grimy smarmy bluesy lo-fi garage a la Pussy Galore, Royal Trux. Female vocals are more believable than the Yeahsx3 (but what isn’t?). I’m sure they aren’t White Stripes band wagon jumping (this is too bluesy dirty for that) but they might be mistaken for that. Not sure why they feel obligated to glamorize their own self imposed poverty/drug abuse in the music/liner notes, but if it worked for Trux…

1) sow to evolve, smarmy garage, sultry cool sexy, FCC in last 2 seconds, pot down the sample at the end, its stupid anyway
2) FCCs “fucks”
3) bluesy, minimal drums, heavy
4) more bluesy, Royal Trux feel in male/fem vocs
5) downtuned guit, swampy
6) cliché phone message quality sample
7) swingy bluesy swampy, title track
8) FCCs
9) acoustic guit near ballad w/ fem vocs in front of duet, almost melodic white stripes, nice subliminal noise
10) FCCs
11) slow ballady, its tough being a talented junkie
12) acoustic ballad

Track Listing
1. Superstition   7. Hand
2. Cat Claw   8. Hitched
3. Pull a U   9. Black Rooster
4. Kissy Kissy   10. Wait
5. Friend Mu Little Brins   11. Fuck the People
6. Gypsy Death and You   12. Monkey 23