O'hara, Alexis / In Abulia
Album: In Abulia   Collection:General
Artist:O'hara, Alexis   Added:Apr 2003
Label:Grenadine Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2003-07-21 Pull Date: 2003-09-22
Week Ending: Aug 3 Jul 27
Airplays: 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Jul 30, 2003: press and release
Down with the Man
2. Jul 21, 2003: Fly By Night
Down with the Man

Album Review
Crank & Bug
Reviewed 2003-07-11
This is a very mixed spoken-word effort. All tracks have decent experimental musical accompaniment. However, the centerpiece is the slam poetry of Alexis O’Hara, which is usually delivered in that annoying self-important slam poetry voice. Her straight up slam poetry about serious topics is cheesy and shitty. The tracks that are humorous or musical or in voices other than her own are surprisingly awesome, though. 7 is great, 5 is good, 14 is good, 13 is ok. The rest sucks in my opinion, but if you like slam maybe you’ll be into it.

1.watery, layered French vocals, acoustic guitar.
2.Boring piano, radio noises, and whooshes. Sentimental.
3.Female computer voice speaks clipped political poetry, ends in helicopter noise and sirens. Please.
4.Hospital noises, a dialogue between a nurse with a voice you want to punch and a fucked up patient. Pointless.
5.Little girl voice talks about driving, with kind of creepy background music.
6.Self-important slam-poetry voice. Accordian background. Lots of inner rhyme such as “true” and “you”. Cheesy as hell.
7.Whole song built up from voice-noises. Again with slam poetry but this time funny and great. “Down with... the man!”
8.Tries to be ironically detached and intellectual and fails due to stupidity.
9.Uninteresting instrumental
10.More cheesy spoken word. Tries to create edgy cityscape. Sirens. Mocking laughter. Big words. Failure.
11.Short, cheesy in a Southern accent.
12.Gothy, atmospheric, snippets of ghostly spoken word phrases.
13.Not bad for serious, melodic and melancholic.
14.Great creepy moaning atmosphere in this one. Beware, 30 seconds of silence from 3:28 to 3:56, followed by awesome voice-only finish.

Track Listing
1. Etends Ta Bougie Allumee   8. She's So Dirty
2. Spaceship Matria   9. Hotel By the Highway
3. Plastic Bullets   10. Gastown Blues
4. Seaside Sick   11. Spring Cleaning
5. Bushes As Beasts   12. To Be:Leave
6. Escape Hatch   13. (He Never) Mister
7. Down with the Man   14. Last Train Out