Vexers, the / Vexers, the
Album: Vexers, the   Collection:General
Artist:Vexers, the   Added:Apr 2003
Label:Ace Fu Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2003-06-16 Pull Date: 2003-08-18
Week Ending: Aug 17 Aug 3 Jul 27 Jul 20 Jul 13 Jul 6 Jun 29 Jun 22
Airplays: 1 1 2 1 1 2 5 4

Recent Airplay
1. Jul 03, 2015: Breakaway Bluff
Sick Sick Sick
4. Aug 13, 2003: Bite and Hide
Something Dirty
2. May 31, 2009: The Darling System
Mututal Masturbation
5. Jul 31, 2003: sad and dangerous
Human Machine
3. Dec 24, 2003: A Christmas Eve Special
Mututal Masturbation
6. Jul 23, 2003: Postulate, Then Liberate
Sick Sick Sick

Album Review
Elias (Dr Furious)
Reviewed 2003-06-08
Kick ass punk/post-punk with lead grrrl vocals. California expats hailing from Philly, PA. Rhythmic chops on guitar remind the Quails and riff-based guitar grooves ring Sleater Kinney. There is a Stooges-esque undercurrent here (thickness of bass/drum line or maybe just a sloppy/lazy time signature)and an elusive Devo-esque quality. Wait, I think drum/bass line sometimes rings Pixies (track 10) and Throwing Muses (track 6). These guys have a dirty mouth, but so do I. Pretty good stuff.
Play 9, 10, 6 (FCC), 5, 2 (FCC), 3, 1
1. Head bopping guitar chops open-up to a Sleater Kinney-esque guitar riff. Vocal chorus (clean-clean-clean) reminds Devo.
2. FCC (f-word). Devo-eque guitar riffs. Wait! She even sings "evolution sucks". De-evo-lved.
3. Mutual Masturbation is the name of this track and I am loving it... a frenetic melodic riff, vocals remind Bikini Kill.
4. Bouncy. Straight-up pop-punk rocker.
5. Lots of call-and-response interplay between guitar riffs. Dominant bass line and vicious rhythmic attacks. Mid-tempo - apocalyptic mood.
6. LOVE THIS TRACK!!! But FCC's (son of a bitch, F-word). Awesome melodic riff and free flowing rhythm/groove (see Throwing Muses). Dreamy and rebellious all at the same time.
7. FCCs. "Fuck it Up".
8. Straight up pop-punk rocker.
9. 100% Sleater Kinney-ish. Kicks ass!!!
10. Serious bass-drum line, whistling, rhythmic build-up's. This rings Pixies and Kim Deal. An epic coda.

Track Listing
1. Something Dirty   6. The Saint
2. Human Machine   7. Fuck It Up
3. Mututal Masturbation   8. Get Up Get Out
4. City Life   9. Rat-Bite Fever
5. You Get Nothing   10. Sick Sick Sick