Vollmar, Justin / Every Place Is Home
Album: Every Place Is Home   Collection:General
Artist:Vollmar, Justin   Added:Mar 2003
Label:Bluesanct Recording Corp  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2003-04-07 Pull Date: 2003-06-09
Week Ending: Jun 8 Jun 1 May 18 May 11 May 4 Apr 27 Apr 20 Apr 13
Airplays: 1 1 1 1 2 1 3 3

Recent Airplay
1. Dec 10, 2003: sad and dangerous
Every Place Is Home
4. May 14, 2003: Fine Tuning Utopia
A Simple Tune
2. Jun 04, 2003: Press and Release
A Simple Tune
5. May 07, 2003: Fine Tuning Utopia
A Simple Tune
3. May 30, 2003: the rust belt
A Simple Tune
6. May 02, 2003: the rust belt
Susan, Did You Hear?

Album Review
Reviewed 2003-04-15
THIS IS GREAT!!! I thoroughly enjoyed this Virginian storyteller’s music, from the sad folk tunes referencing Leonard Cohen’s poetic despair to the sedated optimism in the pop and country numbers not too far from Belle & Sebastian. There is also a charming program to go with the music that’s worth reading. Beautiful and poetic, Justin Vollmar is addicted to the sound of his voice bounced off of metal plate reverb. Combine this with the cute, preachy “this is how we should live” approach and you have elements of Flaming Lips. A great find, this guy is definitely worth following. 9, 1, 5, 3, 4.

1. mellow acoustic with metal noises and squeals in background
2. upbeat pop song with acoustic + harpsichord a la belle & sebastian.
3. beautiful & sad fingerpicked guitar w/ jew’s harp. leonard cohen!
4. cute, upbeat country pop with full band and harmonica lead.
5. another leonard cohen fingerpicked guitar like #3. gorgeous chord progression with slightly out modal harmonies.
6. sweet, quiet lullaby w/ water sounds, jew’s harp, xylophone backing
7. upbeat country song like #4. begins & ends with train track noises
8. sweet, hopeful lullaby referencing the beatles’ here comes the sun.
9. slow, sad fingerpicked guitar. troubadour like storytelling with nice drums and xylophone backing and short buildup at end.
10. lazy swing w/ brushed snare sound. cute & preachy like flaming lips. ends w/ long static fading into water splashing and sirens

Track Listing
1. The Light Was Awfully Fast   6. Matthew Halley and His Great
2. Grey Hearts   7. The Old Man's Coming Home
3. How Far Can the Wise Man   8. Do You Have Hope in Your Eye
4. Susan, Did You Hear?   9. A Simple Tune
5. Every Place Is Home   10. Something Sure As We Can Kno