Tyko / Transmissions From The Biosphere
Album: Transmissions From The Biosphere   Collection:General
Artist:Tyko   Added:Feb 2003
Label:Drawing Room Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2003-05-05 Pull Date: 2003-07-07
Week Ending: Jun 22 Jun 1 May 18 May 11
Airplays: 1 1 3 2

Recent Airplay
1. Oct 02, 2009: The DJ Never Has It
4. Oct 24, 2003: the discovery channel
Central Image, Floating
2. Jun 14, 2009: The Darling System
Planet One
5. Jun 19, 2003: Interim Sneak Attack Takeover
Summertime Comeback
3. Dec 05, 2003: the discovery channel - album week
full album
6. May 26, 2003: Stirling's Approximation
Summertime Comeback

Album Review
Reviewed 2003-04-13
i don't know how they do it. i can't really pinpoint why they sound different from most other indie bands but somehow they do, in a really cool interesting way. is it indie rock? is it shoegazer? is it absolute genius? oh very possibly. i loved this album and i hope you will enjoy it. my favorites are #1, #3, #6, and #7.
1 - heavy bass paired with gentle vocals. it almost seems like the vocals are the background here. neat role reversal of sorts.
2 - pretty standard indie boy vocals with distorted guitar.
3 - a long minimal duet-like track with pretty female vocals and ominous, brooding guitars.
4 - upbeat and catchy. nothing too unique but definitely fun!
5 - good driving music with a cool interplay of male and female vocals.
6 - when i heard it, i thought "pixies pixies pixies". the last minute or so of guitar craziness ROCKS!
7 - slow, laidback, female vocals, strummy guitars. like the softies.
8 - a long epic close to the album. an interestingly strange start leading to another solid rock out track.

Track Listing
1. Summertime Comeback   4. Saturn 5
2. Kids in the Biosphere   5. Planet One
3. Elastic Brain   6. Floating
  7. Central Image