For Against / Coalesced
Album: Coalesced   Collection:General
Artist:For Against   Added:Jan 2003
Label:Words on Music  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2003-03-24 Pull Date: 2003-05-26
Week Ending: May 18 Apr 13 Apr 6 Mar 30
Airplays: 1 1 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Apr 30, 2015: The Sunset Life
So Long
4. Mar 14, 2013: The Sunset Life
2. Feb 10, 2015: In The Year One Thousand, Eight Thousand [W1505]
5. May 11, 2012: The Sunset Life
3. Apr 03, 2014: The Sunset Life
6. May 16, 2003: The Back OF The Class

Album Review
Reviewed 2003-04-20
Veteran indie dream pop trio with male vocals, guitar, bass, and drums. Vocals seem they like they could be central but instead they tend to get played over by instruments, which tend to dominate as they produce rolling, softly-building rhythms. Gentle, dreamy, and spacey feel. Each track pretty linear and progressive, rather than discrete sections with distinct or changing beats. Particularly interesting are the long instrumentals. Your head may move from side to side but it probably won’t make you get up out of your chair. But it’s fun and unique nonetheless. Recommend 1, 6, and instrumental 7.
1 – medium and gentle, with simple drums, guitar strumming, and dreamy, soaring vocals, has long closing instrumental
2 – rolling beat, keeps consistent and steady pace
3 – slower and a bit more psychedelic and dreamy
4 – long (nearly 7 min), dark, industrial, mysterious, building intro then airy vocals and guitar, great instrumental to end track
5 – medium, typical of the CD
6 – long (over 6 min), slow-medium, more variety and tempo changes than other tracks, spacey and soaring vocals and guitar
7 – instrumental – medium and lulling, with chiming/ringing guitar

Track Listing
1. Medication   4. Coalesced
2. So Long   5. Outside a Heart
3. Fuel   6. Shelflife
  7. Love You