Larue, Joshua / Landscape Tracks
Album: Landscape Tracks   Collection:General
Artist:Larue, Joshua   Added:Jan 2003
Label:After Hours  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2003-02-17 Pull Date: 2003-04-21
Week Ending: Mar 23 Mar 16 Mar 9 Mar 2 Feb 23
Airplays: 1 1 2 5 3

Recent Airplay
1. Oct 27, 2005: Lost and Found
4. Mar 06, 2003: Mais non peut-etre
Mad on the Subway
2. Mar 22, 2003: sad and dangerous
5. Mar 05, 2003: Brownian Motion
Mad on the Subway
3. Mar 11, 2003: The Caffeine Daze
6. Feb 26, 2003: Fine Tuning Utopia
For Real

Album Review
Your Imaginary Friend
Reviewed 2003-02-11
Jazzy post-rock. Well played guits/bass/keys/drums, all instrumental. Instead of noodling over one off-time theme over and over again these guys actually include a lot of great textures and changes and parts, with true talent. Complex timings and chording are a part of the music instead of its sole focus. Great stuff, tasteful, interesting.

1) very jazzy feel, upbeat funky drums
2) chill, w/ electonic flare
3) meditative slow, slightly discordant and swingy jazz-post-funk
4) funky upbeat drums
5) excellent weird voiceover about Y2K, McDonalds, some restrained FCCs (“shit”), use judgement, over funky stripped down noodling
6) mellow jam gets upbeat later
7) pretty guit work, fem backgrnd vocs a la Mary Hanson/Stereolab, upbeat, bassy
8) slower, swingy straight 4/4
9) funky, electro overtones
10) brief looped riff intro, then jazz guit solo instrumental, pretty, mellow, looping sampler-delay
11) funky upbeat tone w/ congas, rhythm heavy
12) slightly blippy and sparse
13) mellow w/ electrobeat and feel
14) Mary Hanson’esque fem vocs return, post rock’isms, cool elect guit

Track Listing
1. After Hours Style   8. Mason Jar
2. Kickers   9. Sucker Growth
3. For Real   10. Guitar Chalk
4. Skunked   11. Tejas Style
5. Mad on the Subway   12. Cloud Floatain
6. Cloud Floatain   13. Shrizinkydink
7. Presence   14. PRESENCE(2)