Allison, Dot / We Are Science
Album: We Are Science   Collection:General
Artist:Allison, Dot   Added:Nov 2002
Label:Mantra/Beggers Banquet  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2003-01-13 Pull Date: 2003-03-17
Week Ending: Mar 16 Mar 9 Feb 9 Jan 19
Airplays: 1 3 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Nov 16, 2005: Epic Soundtracks
Wishing Stone
4. Mar 04, 2003: Hot off the Grill
You Can Be Replaced
2. Mar 13, 2003: The Digital/Analog War
5. Feb 05, 2003: the discovery channel
3. Mar 05, 2003: the discovery channel
6. Jan 14, 2003: Hot off the Grill

Album Review
Reviewed 2003-02-18
ok, so the sticker claims this is trip-hop but it's more like electro/80s, i think. in any case, this is a pretty good and interesting album, mostly because she has a cool voice and she doesn't seem to be afraid to try different things. try out #3, #5, #9, #10.

1. sporadic fem vocals and a breakdown of spoken lyrics towards the end. a little cheesy but pretty funky!
2. isn’t electro/new-wave-80s/whatever-it’s-called really popular right now? this sounds like one of those songs.
3. her voice really stands out on this one and it’s catchy!
4. sounds like something off of an ambient cd.
5. acoustic guitar and her. earnest and sad.
6. an 80s dance track? kind of neat and retro.
7. loud and rocky.
8. buzzy, distorted, and repetitious vocals. a little trancey.
9. lazy-feeling and probably closest to trip-hop out of all the tracks.
10. another slow, languid one. vocals intensive.
11. remix of #2 by felix da housecat. it's just as housey as you expect!
12. remix of #1. tech-housey.

Track Listing
1. We're Only Science   6. Make It Happen
2. Substance   7. Strung Out
3. You Can Be Replaced   8. I Think I Love You
4. Performace   9. Hex
5. Wishing Stone   10. Lover