Karate / Some Books
Album: Some Books   Collection:General
Artist:Karate   Added:Nov 2002
Label:Southern Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2003-01-06 Pull Date: 2003-03-10
Week Ending: Jan 19
Airplays: 2

Recent Airplay
1. Oct 30, 2009: Mittens & Scarves
4. Aug 03, 2005: Lost and Found
2. Oct 27, 2005: Lost and Found
5. Jan 15, 2003: Strange Attractors
Original Spies
3. Oct 15, 2005: Biff Bang Pow
Baby Teeth
6. Jan 13, 2003: Lick My moody Guitar

Album Review
Your Imaginary Friend
Reviewed 2002-12-16
Guit/bass/drums that have a sound that just reeks of Chicago post rock, but isn’t entirely so. Only thing missing is the vibes: lots of 9th and 7th chords and big drums. Every song has complex guitar chords and a wanky guitar solo and by the end of this cd you want to take the whammy bar from the guy and stick it up his ass. Vocs have the same semi-emotional delivery and melodic feel to every song. When the guy isn’t singing he’s doing a guitar solo. Funny but this really reminds me of mid 70’s Hall and Oats, Pablo Cruise or something like that. Vocals sound like one Thin Lizzy phrasing over and over again. Wanky drum fills too. Like they want to play jazz but just cant admit it to themselves. Thing is, this is all good stuff, perfect for radio in that one song at a time is great. But going through the whole thing (twice, no less) makes me want to hang myself. Nonetheless, lots of “Moody Guitar” here.

1) mid paced
2) slight reggae feel
3) slower feel, FCC, cheesy looove feel
4) slower, noodly guit
5) noisy guit clichés, driving feel, mildly prog
6) slower mid near bluesy feel
7) another halting semi bluesy ditty
8) quieter more reflective piece demonstrating the sensitve side of this band to all the chicks
9) sounds like all of the above, overall another chick song

Track Listing
1. Original Spies   5. In Hundreds
2. First Release   6. Airport
3. Ice or Ground?   7. Baby Teeth
4. South   8. Corduroy
  9. Remain Relaxed