Fields, Lee / Problems
Album: Problems   Collection:General
Artist:Fields, Lee   Added:Nov 2002
Label:Soul Fire Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2002-11-25 Pull Date: 2003-01-27
Week Ending: Feb 2 Jan 26 Jan 19 Jan 12 Jan 5 Dec 8 Dec 1
Airplays: 2 1 3 1 2 2 1

Recent Airplay
1. Mar 11, 2022: May Day Sunshine ... in the Afternoon (rebroadcast from May 1, 2014)
Bad Trip
4. Apr 28, 2014: Pumping Iron
The Right Thing
2. Jul 29, 2021: Sunshine . . . in the Afternoon (with Grady ... (rebroadcast from Feb 16, 2012)
Get on the Good Foot
5. Jan 16, 2014: Sunshine ... in the Afternoon
I'm the Man
3. May 01, 2014: May Day Sunshine ... in the Afternoon
Bad Trip
6. Dec 31, 2013: New Year's Eve Sunshine In The Afternoon with Katdelic
The Right Thing

Album Review
The Dead Kenny-Gs
Reviewed 2002-11-20
Lee Fields Problems
Funk. Lee Fields made some seriously funky, and now seriously rare records in the 70s, then faded into obscurity when disco and synthesizers killed the Funk. Since the late 90s, Lee has been resurrected by these deep funk record nerds at Soul Fire records. They put a heavy emphasis on keeping a really raw, low-fi analog sound like that found on the rarest and best funk 45s from the era of true funk (1965-1973). There are heavy drums, rhythmic and precise Guitar, Bass, and Organ, and blaring horns cutting in on the one. Lee's vocals fit right in, sounding like a cross between James Brown and Dyke and the Blazers. This album is the second new Lee Fields album, following 1999's Let's Get a Groove on, and I would say it has a deeper more soulful sound with a stronger afro-beat influence. There are fewer up-tempo dancefloor killers, rather, this is chillin' out funk. The recording is intentionally low fi, it might sound a little raw for some people but it definitely has an authentic sound. I recommend all tracks, start with tracks 2 and 4, then 5, 7 and so on.
1) *Down-tempo, soulful groove
2) **Getting a little more lively, bass and guitar layin' down a nice line.
3) *Spoken word over funk, Lee gives relationship advice
4) **A little quicker with funky bad ass wah-wah guitar
5) **Afro-beat instrumental James Brown cover
6) *Mid-tempo rising on the one
7) **Showcases talents of bass and drummer, chorus vocals
8) *Sweeeet soul love song.
9) *Lo-Fi James Brown style testifyin'
10) *Mid-tempo
Tom Purcell, November 2002

Track Listing
1. Problems   6. I Don't Know Where I'm Going
2. The Right Thing   7. Clap Your Hands
3. Rapping with Lee   8. Honey Dove
4. Bad Trip   9. I'm the Man
5. Get on the Good Foot   10. You Made a New Man Out of Me