Kirby Grips, the / Rotations
Album: Rotations   Collection:General
Artist:Kirby Grips, the   Added:Oct 2002
Label:Sympathy For The Record Industry  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2002-10-28 Pull Date: 2002-12-30
Week Ending: Dec 29 Dec 22 Dec 15 Dec 1 Nov 24 Nov 17 Nov 10 Nov 3
Airplays: 3 1 1 2 1 3 3 4

Recent Airplay
1. Nov 09, 2022: The Mystery Machine
Trawling for Sinners
4. Jun 23, 2011: Brownian Motion
Pity Party
2. Jan 19, 2019: On The Warpath(tribute to Tom Guido)
Pity Party
5. Sep 24, 2010: Music Casserole
Space-Age Polymer, Pity Party
3. Jan 14, 2015: Brownian Motion
Space-Age Polymer, Pity Party
6. Apr 17, 2010: Music Casserole
Space-Age Polymer, Pity Party

Album Review
Your Imaginary Friend
Reviewed 2002-10-29
Local all-girl trio play a fuzzy sweet garage pop rock that’s heavy in melodic vocal harmonies, strummed guits and simple catchy surfy beats. Not 60’s retro, not “isn’t-it-so-cute-that-I-can-barely-play-my-insturment” girl pop. But there is a traditional jangly, low-fi element. Charming is a word; one of my personal favorite live bands. Last track is supercool electrofunk song, if you can believe that.

1) trademark grips, happy feel midpaced, vocal harmonies
2) fast driving paced, very different w/ surprising trumpet section giving 60’s Bacharrach feel
3) minor key slower feel
4) Spanish flare, gut guit, castanets
5) subtle synth noises, simple beat pop
6) pretty, music related lyrics, good melodies
7) waltzy acoustic western ballad feel
8) slow-fast: strange dark cartoon feel turns new wavey fast then back
9) upbeat silly appropriation of the theme song to the 70’s PBS (CTW) childrens show aimed at Hispanic kids “Viva Alegre”- mistakenly (?) sung “villa” alegre
10) garage surfy beat, hand clap Motown feel, fucking GREAT chorus lyric hook, this song goes directly into the next song
11) (play with previous song if possible) the 60’s retro feel increases w/ vox organ and “sha na na’s”
12) a definite divergence for them: funky electro pop minor, treatments samples, moments of New Age Steppers/Slits realm

Track Listing
1. Washing Machine   7. Needless
2. All the Time   8. German Shimmy
3. Slambook   9. Villa Alegre
4. Trawling for Sinners   10. Pity Party
5. Bill's House   11. Space-Age Polymer
6. Put Another Record on   12. Flying I