Various Artists / Wedding Ep
Album: Wedding Ep   Collection:General 7"
Artist:Various Artists   Added:Aug 2002
Label:Whoa Oh Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2003-02-10 Pull Date: 2003-03-17
Week Ending: Mar 16 Mar 2 Feb 16
Airplays: 1 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Mar 10, 2003: The Back Of The Class
3. Feb 11, 2003: Mr. Sparkle Challenge
Whatever Makes You Happy
2. Feb 24, 2003: The Back Of The Class
The Wedding Song

Album Review
Katie P.
Reviewed 2003-02-03
Dirt Bike Annie and Kung Fu Monkeys "The Wedding EP" - 2 bands on 2 blue 7 inches. It's pretty cool. Both bands play 1 old song, 1 new song, each cover a song of the other band (you know, borrowed), and of course the vinyl is blue (yes it's just that cute). It's basically all power pop and done pretty well too. Dirt Bike Annie has one weird new-wave pop song and then some power-pop. Kung Fu Monkeys sound a little like the Beach Boys in that cute pop-surf sort of way. This stuff is a lot of fun and recommended for anyone wanting to play some silly pop music. And apparently this was a wedding present to their friends. Will the cuteness never end!?!
My Picks: A1, A2, C1
Katie P. 2/3/03

A1) Uptempo and bouncy new-wave sound. Cute keyboards and guitars. Female spoken vocals with some male backups. Feels very 80's.
A2) Uptempo guitar power-pop. Male vocals with female backups. Fun and bouncy. Cool breakdown section.
B1) (cover of Dirt Bike Annie song) Starts with guitar and is a slower tempo. Very quiet and cute. Male vocals. Ends (earlier than it looks like). Recorded silence for about 30 seconds, then in comes a cool acapella reprise of A2.
C1) Uptempo and bouncy. Cute song almost sounds a little surfy but mostly poppy. Wow. This is really nice.
C2) Midtempo and fuller sounding with several guitars and layered vocals. I think it's male vocals, but in a high voice.
D1) (cover of Kung Fu Mankeys song). Starts with a cool bass line. Then hits in male vocals and the rest of the band with a dragging midtempo song. Female backups. Goofy lyrics. Nice buildup at the end.

Track Listing
 ArtistTrack Name
1. Dirt Bike Annie Whatever Makes You Happy
2. Dirt Bike Annie The Wedding Song
3. Dirt Bike Annie Angel
4. Kung Fu Monkeys My Baby Said "Yeah!"
5. Kung Fu Monkeys A Kiss on Your Back Stoop
6. Kung Fu Monkeys All Systems Go