I Am the World Trade Center / Tight Connection, the
Album: Tight Connection, the   Collection:General
Artist:I Am the World Trade Center   Added:Jul 2002
Label:Kindercore Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2002-09-02 Pull Date: 2002-11-04
Week Ending: Nov 3 Oct 27 Oct 20 Oct 6 Sep 29 Sep 22 Sep 15 Sep 8
Airplays: 2 1 1 1 1 2 4 1

Recent Airplay
1. Jun 08, 2024: Buford J. Sharkley Presents: As Told to Hervey Okkles
Big Star
4. Feb 24, 2007: Biff Bang Pow
Call Me
2. Dec 18, 2019: Brownian Motion
Shoot You Down
5. Nov 23, 2005: Brownian Motion
3. Jan 05, 2011: Brownian Motion
6. Jul 07, 2004: Mr. Sparkle Challenge
Shoot You Down

Album Review
Your Imaginary Friend
Reviewed 2002-08-25
Synth pop, low key man/woman duo. All synthetic new wavey and trippy beats with only the girl singing, often dubbing on top of herself. Quite charming and pleasant, not boring or worn out as a lot of this genre has become. Moments remind me of better old Human League, lush sweetness of finer Orange Cake Mix, even New Odor, with Debbie Harry vocal delivery. Doesn’t rely on retro sounds like a lot of keyboard bands do, and best of all doesn’t try to be “cute”. Every track is good, almost perfection. Unfortunately named band: on Sept 12 2001 I recall they renamed themselves “I Am Black”, but apparently they got over it. I hope the country gets over its love of Duh-Bya similarly. I think I just really digressed here….

1) kinda slick tone, not the best song to start the cd off with
2) here we go, fun upbeat slightly retro organ feel
3) very synth poppy, slow pretty vocal melody
4) funky sexy danceable beat, airy quality like Orange Cake Mix, yes
5) beautiful lyric hook and content, sad and sweet simultaneously, if there’s a “hit” on this record, this is it
6) upbeat funky beat, melody hooks remind me of Sonny and Cher “the beat goes on” somehow (I know, I’m a fucking freak)
7) Blondie cover, vocs are slightly flat in places and it works perfectly, very 80’s synth pop, something you’d hear at “New Wave Night” in a suburban dance club in 1982
8) upbeat happy feel
9) aw, this is as pretty as an Anne Magnusen/Bongwater ballad voc/lyrically (“There You Go”), but with New Order beats that kick in here and there
10) strange funky disco, sci-fi 11) slight martin denny feel, this is upbeat cocktail music that is brilliant, a super cool beat, and is an ode to 911 on top of it all (see the sticker on the back of the jewel case)

Track Listing
1. The Postcard   6. Hold on to My Lines
2. Big Star   7. Call Me
3. Believe in Me   8. Can't Take the Heat
4. Shoot You Down   9. California Dreaming Again
5. Pretty Baby   10. Dancing Alone
  11. Soiree