Birth / Find
Album: Find   Collection:Jazz
Artist:Birth   Added:Jun 2002
Label:Hopscotch Records  

Recent Airplay
1. Oct 23, 2023: Some Songs Without Words
Pakora Menorah
4. Jul 22, 2004: Umami Jazz Program
2. Aug 09, 2005: Umami Jazz Program
5. Sep 26, 2003: Memory Select
3. Feb 01, 2005: Umami Jazz Program
6. Sep 14, 2003: Oh Mewssy Life

Album Review
Craig Matsumoto
Reviewed 2002-08-08
These guys are great. Sax-bass-drums trio with lots of energy and lots of youthful loudness. Compositions start with recognizable jazz elements and often a klezmer touch, but from there they add high-energy outside soloing and the occasional spasm of electronics.

They develop grooves that hold a fast, tight pace, but they also show off a slower, moodier side on tracks like #3 or the intro to #2.

A lot of their energy is better conveyed live than on CD. You can capture some of that live spirit by being sure to play this one loud!

Track Listing
1. Seek   5. Untitled R_D
2. Smile   6. Emitter
3. The Round One   7. Pakora Menorah
4. Bismillah   8. Because the Sky Is Blue