Berne, Tim / Science Friction
Album: Science Friction   Collection:Jazz
Artist:Berne, Tim   Added:May 2002
Label:Screwgun Records  

Recent Airplay
1. Aug 12, 2016: Rebop
Jalapeno Diplomacy
4. Dec 12, 2008: Memory Select
2. Jun 10, 2016: Rebop
5. Apr 06, 2007: Memory Select
3. Nov 26, 2009: Connecting Dots
6. Jul 08, 2005: Memory Select

Album Review
Craig Matsumoto
Reviewed 2002-05-22
Sharp, edgy, dark and even rockin' .... another great session of energetic, twiny jazz from sax man Tim Berne. Not every composition here is fast tempo'd, but there's an adventurous energy all around. Instead of bass, there's an electric piano by Craig Taborn, who adds a gloopy background and even some funky touches. There's also Marc Ducret's colorful guitar playing (sometimes jazzy, sometimes loud and out of control). Atop all that are the occasional real-time electronic manipulations by David Torn (cf. #8).

Berne started working with Taborn a couple of years ago (c. 2000?), and at the time I was worried that Taborn would be more of a distrction than a help. Turns out, he's made vital contributions to Berne's bands ... on this album in particular, Taborn's propulsive avant-funk elements really shine, more so than on Berne's recent "The Shell Game."

1- Will rock your world. Odd-time-signature, quasi-funky ... fast, power-packed and almost danceable.
2- Fast and liquid
4- Bouncy, fast, jumpy
5- Ethereal whine
6- Midtempo flow ... great splattery keyboard solo
8- Midtempo wandering theme, catchy and rocking

Track Listing
1. Huevos   5. Mikromaus
2. Ihornet   6. Jalapeno Diplomacy
3. Sigh Fry   7. The Mallomar Maneuvre
4. Manatee Woman   8. Clown Finger