Cerberus Shoal / Mr. Boy Dog
Album: Mr. Boy Dog   Collection:General
Artist:Cerberus Shoal   Added:Apr 2002
Label:Temporary Residence Ltd.  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2002-08-12 Pull Date: 2002-10-14
Week Ending: Oct 13 Sep 22
Airplays: 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Aug 12, 2004: Hello Kitten
4. Sep 22, 2002: Oh Messy Life
2. Apr 20, 2004: Lick My Moody Guitar Show
Telikos Ii
5. Aug 30, 2002: Input/Output
Telikos II
3. Oct 13, 2002: Oh Messy Life
Telikos Ii
6. Aug 23, 2002: Umami Jazz Program
Stumblin' Block

Album Review
Your Imaginary Friend
Reviewed 2002-07-31
Improv feel, near jazz w/ horns but guitar based, not much vocalizations, definitely arty. Not so much “experimental” but elements are present. Mostly instrumental, vocals are understated/abstract if present at all. Lots of quiet/loud, start/stop contrasts. Cool and strange. Do Make Say Think, Biota.

Disc 1
1) everyone crashing together free jazz style, stop go
2) rather hypnotic repetitive horn scales, tones down to reveal mindful trippy jam
3) tribal feel, minimal vocs enter 5 min in
4) disjunct smattering of improv things, mostly slow mellow but contrasted w/ faster crazy things
5) sparse feel w/ looping feel, strange minimal voice, loud crashes here and there after 3+ min, then after 6+ minutes a tribal feeling full on jam breaks out, congas and tom heavy, melodic w/ horns, retards long and slow to end, strange
6) upbeat tarzan conga feel, strangely dissonant

Disc 2:
1) slow mellow trippy-pretty start slowly builds to understated vocs and crashes
2) mostly mellow feel, cool rhythmic improv feel
3) radio sample built upon w/ lo-fi recording and noise
4) strange eastern European folk feel, hand organs, banjo thingys, very Biota’esque
5) brief continuation
6) mellow slow arpeggio ballady w/ vocs, drums join midway, turns hypnotic

Track Listing
1. Round Valley   7. Unmarked Boxes
2. Nataraja   8. Telikos Ii
3. Camel Bell   9. (Untitled)
4. Stumblin' Block   10. Nod
5. Tongue Drongue   11. (Untitled)
6. Vuka   12. An Egypt that Does not Exist