Red Monkey / Gunpowder, Treason and Plot
Album: Gunpowder, Treason and Plot   Collection:General
Artist:Red Monkey   Added:Oct 2001
Label:Troubleman Unlimited  

Recent Airplay
1. Sep 16, 2005: Distraction-Limited
Not Certain Positive
4. Feb 26, 2002: Four Letter Love
Bloody Mary
2. Jul 02, 2003: Postulate, Then Liberate
Spoken Time
5. Jan 29, 2002: Four Letter Love
Spoken Time
3. Mar 12, 2002: Four Letter Love
Not Certain Positive
6. Jan 23, 2002: Strange Attractors
The Jazz Step Forwards

Album Review
Hannah Mae
Reviewed 2002-10-17
Pensive punks (ex-Pussycat Trash) with a fine sense of dynamics and a knack for making political lyrics personal and evocative rather than polemical and formulaic (a bit like Fugazi in that respect, as well as in their angular/circular rhythms). Emma "if I can't dance, I don't want to be part of your revolution" Goldman would be pleased.

1. circular bassline, dual f/m vox, nice tempo changes
2. swaying - cool interlocking guitar/basslines
3. rolling, w/handclaps - a more ambiguous answer to Crass's "Bata Motel"? dig the scratchy breakdown!
4. trumpet lends a bit of Dog Faced Hermans feel
5. odd warm guitars
6. sharp guitars, calm confident vox
7. headnodding in an Ex-y way
8. starts and stops, odd (guest) vox
9. Fugazi-ish, spare start, w/trumpet
10. wavering and wiggly, happy revolution - "give a cop a cuddle! how you gonna tame us?"

Track Listing
1. The Jazz Step Forwards   5. Backing and Dirt
2. Spoken Time   6. From Ground Down
3. Essential Nutrients   7. Courage in this Now
4. Bloody Mary   8. Sweeing
  9. Not Certain Positive