Guided By Voices / Do the Collapse
Album: Do the Collapse   Collection:General
Artist:Guided By Voices   Added:Jul 1999
Label:Tvt Records  

Recent Airplay
1. Oct 10, 2018: The Library
Teenage Fbi
4. Sep 28, 2016: The Library
Much Better Mr. Buckles
2. May 31, 2017: The Library
Hold on Hope
5. Aug 03, 2016: The Library
Much Better Mr. Buckles
3. Oct 05, 2016: The Library
Hold on Hope
6. Jun 21, 2016: The Library
Hold on Hope

Album Review
Craig Matsumoto
Reviewed 2007-03-03
GbV's supposed big break, with a bigger label and Ric Ocasek as producer. The results weren't well received by some GbV fans. Where GbV had been lo-fi heroes, Do the Collapse added layers of gloss (Cars-like keyboards on "Teenage FBI" seem just indulgent, e.g.). It's still a nice piece of work, though.

1,3, and 7 are energetic pop gems; 3 became a staple of live shows until the end and is the best track on here.

9,13 - A bit slower, more even-handed, both great.

2- A bit of avant-garde strangeness. Lots of fans hate this track, but it's a slow-burning rocker that's worth a try.

Inexplicably, track 4 (a mediocre ballad) was picked as the "hit single" by TVT.

Track Listing
1. Teenage Fbi   9. Mushroom Art
2. Zoo Pie   10. Much Better Mr. Buckles
3. Things I Will Keep   11. Wormhole
4. Hold on Hope   12. Strumpet Eye
5. In Stitches   13. Liquid Indian
6. Dragons Awake!   14. Wrecking Now
7. Surgical Focus   15. Picture Me Big Time
8. Optical Hopscotch   16. An Unmarketed Product