Iron & Wine / Light Verse
Album: Light Verse   Collection:A-File
Artist:Iron & Wine   Added:May 2024
Label:Sub Pop Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2024-05-20 Pull Date: 2024-07-22
Week Ending: Jul 14 Jul 7 Jun 30 Jun 23 Jun 16 Jun 9 Jun 2 May 26
Airplays: 3 3 2 2 5 2 3 2

Recent Airplay
1. Jul 19, 2024: KZSU Time Traveler
You Never Know
4. Jul 09, 2024: Traditions
Taken By Surprise
2. Jul 12, 2024: KZSU Time Traveler
Cutting It Close (Clean Edit)
5. Jul 06, 2024: Music Casserole
Tears That Don't Matter (Clean Edit), Taken By Surprise
3. Jul 10, 2024: entropy
Anyone's Game
6. Jul 05, 2024: KZSU Time Traveler
All In Good Time (Feat. Fiona Apple) (Clean Edit)

Album Review
Francis D
Reviewed 2024-05-04
“Light Verse” Iron & Wine
Indie folk singer-songwriter, Sam Beam. 7th solo studio album, and the first since 2017’s “Beast Epic.” While Beam is known for his hushed, spare acoustic sound, this Iron & Wine album leans on piano and fingerpicked guitar, but also mixes in lush orchestration and intriguing rhythms — making the 10-song set light, breezy and consistently satisfying. Beam’s lyrics brim with optimism and self-reflection — with a dash of dry humor at times — while exploring sometimes somber topics. RIYL: Andrew Bird, The Decemberists, M. Ward or The Tallest Man On Earth.
— Francis

Highly recommended: 1, 2, 3, 7, 4, 6, 10. FCCs on Tracks 3, 4 and 8 have been edited.

1. (4:51) You Never Know — Languid and lovely. Folky guitar and piano with bowed and strummed upright bass and simple drums. Strings as well. ****
2. (3:50) Anyone’s Game — Bouncy and fun. Middle Eastern-sounding, with an exotic rhythm, insistent bass and even zither strumming. Catchy vocals. ****
3. (4:14) All In Good Time (feat. Fiona Apple) (Clean Edit) — A relaxed and gorgeous sway with Beam and Fiona Apple singing counterpoint to one another over piano, guitar and a full orchestra. ****
4. (2:56) Cutting It Close (Clean Edit) — Playful, intricate fingerpicked guitar and piano, with wry, humorous lyrics and seamless, sparkling storytelling. ***
5. (5:20) Taken By Surprise — Stark and sad. Pensive pace. Beautifully written love letter. Fingerpicked and strummed guitar, piano and strings. And perhaps an Italian lira as well.
6. (3:26) Yellow Jacket — Simple and stripped-back with soft, almost spoken vocals and orchestration that makes this sound a little like a James Taylor tune from the ‘70s. ***
7. (3:39) Sweet Talk — Upbeat change of pace. Toe-tapping indie folk with a spirited energy. Strummed guitar, bell-like synths. Rich backing vocals. ***
8. (6:53) Tears That Don’t Matter (Clean Edit) — Epic anthem with strident, staccato spoken vocals like lines from a poem spun over swelling strings — and all set to an urgent marching rhythm.
9. (3:23) Bag Of Cats — Rambling and bluesy. Fingerpicked guitar and piano. Organ. Tapping rhythm. Harmonized vocals in the chorus.
10. (4:22) Angels Go Home — Chamber folk. Layers of orchestration ebb and flow, swirling around Beam’s emotive vocals. ***
11. (4:15) All In Good Time (feat. Fiona Apple) (Unedited) — FCC: shit — Unedited version of track 3.
12. (3:00) Cutting It Close (Unedited) — FCC: fucked — Unedited version of track 4.
13. (6:54) Tears That Don’t Matter (Unedited) — FCC: piss — Unedited version of track 8.

Track Listing
1. You Never Know   7. Sweet Talk
2. Anyone's Game   8. Tears That Don't Matter (Clean Edit)
3. All In Good Time (Feat. Fiona Apple) (Clean Edit)   9. Bag Of Cats
4. Cutting It Close (Clean Edit)   10. Angels Go Home
5. Taken By Surprise   11. All In Good Time (Feat. Fiona Apple) (Unedited)
6. Yellow Jacket   12. Cutting It Close (Unedited)
  13. Tears That Don't Matter (Unedited)