Vampire Weekend / Only God Was Above Us
Album: Only God Was Above Us   Collection:A-File
Artist:Vampire Weekend   Added:Apr 2024
Label:Columbia Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2024-04-28 Pull Date: 2024-06-30
Week Ending: Jun 9 Jun 2 May 26 May 19 May 12 May 5
Airplays: 2 3 4 2 1 5

Recent Airplay
1. Jun 14, 2024: KZSU Time Traveler
Mary Boone
4. Jun 08, 2024: Music Casserole
2. Jun 13, 2024: I Like to Dance: Shake Off Your Pants
Gen-X Cops
5. Jun 07, 2024: KZSU Time Traveler
3. Jun 12, 2024: The Library
Prep-School Gangsters
6. Jun 01, 2024: Music Casserole

Album Review
Francis D
Reviewed 2024-04-08
“Only God Was Above Us” Vampire Weekend
Vampire Weekend returns with its 5th studio album. The title is taken from a news article about an airliner whose roof blew off during a flight in Hawaii, with a passenger quoted as saying “Only God was above us.” This serves as a metaphor for singer-songwriter Ezra Koenig’s ongoing search for answers to cosmic questions regarding life and purpose. Not quite as melodic as the band’s previous “Father Of The Bride,” the album nevertheless offers a standout collection of instant indie rock and chamber pop classics that integrate exotic rhythms, multiple layers of keys, plus bass and guitar — together with Koenig’s clever, intelligent lyrics exploring wide-ranging aspects of our existence. It’s noisier and more clash-y than their previous albums, but truly, every track is worthy of play. RIYL: Vampire Weekend 
— Francis

Highly recommended: 3, 8, 5, 2, 10, 9, 1. FCC on Track 11 (unedited version of track #1).

1. (3:36) Ice Cream Piano (Radio Edit) — Unexpected opener. Almost spoken vocals with a couple of expletives, set over distortion and deliberate piano. Then, the track explodes into propulsive rock (with strings). ***
2. (4:20) Classical — Lyrical and lilting, with layered instruments ranging from piano and organ to synth and discordant saxophones — all over a captivating bass line and rhythm. ****
3. (4:10) Capricorn — Starts as a gentle and melodic baroque pop sway, but after a piano-based lead break, the second verse mixes in some disquieting noise — perhaps reflecting Koenig’s observations of generational concerns, while still finding optimism in everyday details. ****
4. (5:10) Connect — Reminiscent of “Holiday” from the band’s “Contra” album. Lively and light on its feet with intricate keyboards, a skipping rhythm, jazzy vibe and synth trills and trappings.
5. (3:49) Prep-School Gangsters — Baroque pop tune built on pulsing bass line, piano, Farfisa organ, angular guitar and uplifting vocals. ****
6. (5:47) The Surfer — Languid and laid-back, with piano and other keys, shimmering synths, strings, a trip-hop beat and slow, sad guitars.
7. (3:48) Gen-X Cops — Driving, up-tempo rock with prominent guitar, almost surfy drums, chime-y synths and piano. Some distortion and effects along with harmonized vocals.
8. (4:26) Mary Boone — Builds off past Vampire Weekend favorites such as “Hannah Hunt” and “Ya Hey.” Full, rich reverbed lead vocals with a ‘chorale’ as backing, piano arpeggios and a pensively paced, shuffling beat. ****
9. (4:11) Pravda — Skipping and playful. Piano, synth and other keys — with repeated, intricate guitar runs. Call-and-response vocals. ***
10. (7:58) Hope — Epic, mesmerizing closing rock anthem. Piano over a solid beat. The lyrics speak of difficulties — real or metaphoric — while repeatedly urging “I hope you let it go.” ***
11. (3:36) Ice Cream Piano (Unedited) FCC: fuck (twice) — Unedited version of Track 1.

Track Listing
1. Ice Cream Piano (Radio Edit) (3:36)   6. The Surfer (5:47)
2. Classical (4:20)   7. Gen-X Cops (3:48)
3. Capricorn (4:10)   8. Mary Boone (4:26)
4. Connect (5:10)   9. Pravda (4:11)
5. Prep-School Gangsters (3:49)   10. Hope (7:58)
  11. Ice Cream Piano (Unedited)