Thy Slaughter / Soft Rock
Album: Soft Rock   Collection:General
Artist:Thy Slaughter   Added:Dec 2023
Label:PC Music  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2024-03-04 Pull Date: 2024-05-06
Week Ending: May 5 Apr 28 Apr 21 Apr 14 Apr 7 Mar 31 Mar 24 Mar 10
Airplays: 1 1 2 1 1 1 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. May 16, 2024: Fermentation Station
4. Apr 22, 2024: Virtually Happy
2. May 16, 2024: I Like to Dance: Shake Off Your Pants
Shine a Light
5. Apr 20, 2024: Music Casserole
3. May 09, 2024: I Like to Dance: Shake Off Your Pants
Shine a Light
6. Apr 18, 2024: I Like to Dance: Shake Off Your Pants
Shine a Light

Album Review
Reviewed 2023-12-29
Superb new joint project between PC Music producers A. G. Cook and EASYFUN. Fascinating exploration of 90s and 00's soft rock aesthetics painted in an otherworldly hyperpop sheen. Guest features/producers include Caroline Polachek, Charli XCX, Alaska Reid, Ellie Rowsell, and the late SOPHIE. Highly recommended.

Try 10, 2, 7, 4, 6, 8
FCC: 4

1. Glitchy, crushed, intro. Rolls into a distorted catchy pop groove with stretched vocals
2. Grungy, electric guitar based, featuring Caroline Polachek's soaring vocals
3. Atmospheric ringing harmonic intro leads into a crunchy trap beat with squeaks of distorted electric guitar and a bit of bass wobble
4. (FCC: fuck) Soft rock aesthetics coupled with a drilled mechanical beat and sultry Guest vocals from Charli XCX
5. Love ballad with cooed vocals and gentle acoustic guitar jammed through some crunchy distortion
6. Breathy soft pop with chipper piano, sweeping strings, melodic autotune and subtle effects
7. Over-the-top autotune and swollen basslines. Sugary, poppy, and catchy. Killer distorted guitar solo at the 2 min mark and until the song fades out
8. Grand, sweeping love song with fluttery synthesizer elements courtesy of SOPHIE and a nice muffled kick drum. A bit repetitive, but still really nice
9. Strummy, fragile vocals
10. Vocorder vocals and gentle keyboard. Transforms into an acid techno breakdown at the end. Super cool
11. Acoustic folk. One sung line “don’t know what you want” repeated over and over and getting more distorted each time. Soft outro with muffled electronic elements
12. Autotuned piano ballad. Fragile and sweet

Track Listing
1. Sentence   7. Flail
2. Immortal   8. Lost Everything
3. Reign   9. O Fortuna
4. Heavy   10. Shine a Light
5. Bullets   11. Don't Know What You Want
6. If I Knew   12. Fountain