National, The / Laugh Track
Album: Laugh Track   Collection:General
Artist:National, The   Added:Sep 2023

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2023-10-04 Pull Date: 2023-12-06
Week Ending: Dec 3 Nov 26 Nov 19 Nov 12 Nov 5 Oct 29 Oct 22 Oct 15
Airplays: 2 2 1 1 1 2 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Dec 09, 2023: Hanging In The Boneyard
Weird Goodbyes (Feat. Bon Iver)
4. Nov 25, 2023: Music Casserole
Smoke Detector
2. Dec 02, 2023: Everything
Smoke Detector
5. Nov 24, 2023: KZSU Time Traveler
Alphabet City
3. Dec 01, 2023: KZSU Time Traveler
Space Invader
6. Nov 17, 2023: KZSU Time Traveler
Space Invader

Album Review
Francis D
Reviewed 2023-09-30
“Laugh Track” The National
Surprise release from the long-time indie rockers. The National’s 10th studio album. Complements their previous “First Two Pages of Frankenstein” release. This collection of songs is somewhat looser and not as subdued as “Frankenstein.” Rather, it’s more of a return to some of the band’s earlier work — and reflects their growth from the time on the road. Arrangements include shimmering keys, guitars, solid drums and Matt Berninger’s trademark baritone vocals and introspective lyrics. RIYL: Arcade Fire, The War on Drugs, El Vy and Berninger’s solo work.
— Francis

Recommended: 7, 1, 3, 2, 9, 6, 11, 12. FCC on track 8 has been edited.

1. (3:44) Alphabet City — Jittery, repetitive synths create tension throughout. Berninger’s almost-spoken vocals touch an extremely low register, with piano and strings layered toward the end. ****
2. (4:30) Deep End (Paul’s In Pieces) — Propulsive rocker featuring Bryan Devendorf’s confident drumming. Bouncy and catchy. ***
3. (5:03) Weird Goodbyes (Feat. Bon Iver) — Skipping trip-hop rhythm with bell-like synths and strings. Berninger’s crooning vocals lead, and then are harmonized by Justin Vernon of Bon Iver. Reminiscent of a Bruce Springsteen tune. ****
4. (4:35) Turn Off The House — Shuffling, skipping rhythm underscores a sparkling production featuring nimble guitar work and flowing orchestral chords.
5. (3:47) Dreaming — Starts softly, but quickly elevates into an anthemic tune with a dramatic drum line and glittering synths.
6. (4:24) Laugh Track (Feat. Phoebe Bridgers) — Rapid-fire drumming energizes a sentimental duet between Berninger and indie standout, Phoebe Bridgers. Deliberate tempo, with piano and swirling synth soundscape. ***
7. (6:58) Space Invader — Starts softly and easy, but with Devendorf’s high-energy drums building the drama, the tune becomes big and powerful — with a lengthy, largely instrumental guitar and synth trail-out. ****
8. (4:35) Hornets (Radio Edit) — Simple piano ballad with Berninger singing about relationship regrets.
9. (4:58) Coat On A Hook — More hopeful and uplifting. Syncopated drumming. Chime-y synths. Melody meanders a bit. Berninger’s symbolism and poetry stand out. ***
10. (4:27) Tour Manager — Halting and hesitant, with emotive vocals. Ringing keys with skittering rhythm.
11. (4:35) Crumble (Feat. Rosanne Cash) — Sentimental ballad with a hint of Americana. Rosanne Cash, daughter of Johnny and June Carter Cash, lends her strong voice to the harmonies. ***
12. (7:47) Smoke Detector — Lengthy jam, inspired by The National’s recent live performances. Cool, laid-back spoken vocals over a persistent bass line and edgy guitar riffs. **
13. (4:35) Hornets (Unedited) — Non-radio safe version of Track 8. (FCC: shit — three times)

Track Listing
1. Alphabet City   7. Space Invader
2. Deep End (Paul’s In Pieces)   8. Hornets (Radio Edit)
3. Weird Goodbyes (Feat. Bon Iver)   9. Coat On A Hook
4. Turn Off The House   10. Tour Manager
5. Dreaming   11. Crumble (Feat. Rosanne Cash)
6. Laugh Track (Feat. Phoebe Bridgers)   12. Smoke Detector
  13. Hornets (Unedited)