Califone / Villagers
Album: Villagers   Collection:General
Artist:Califone   Added:Aug 2023
Label:Jealous Butcher Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2023-10-22 Pull Date: 2023-12-24
Week Ending: Dec 24 Dec 3 Nov 26 Nov 19 Nov 12 Nov 5 Oct 29
Airplays: 1 1 1 2 1 2 2

Recent Airplay
1. Feb 09, 2024: KZSU Time Traveler
4. Dec 22, 2023: KZSU Time Traveler
2. Dec 30, 2023: Music Casserole
5. Dec 01, 2023: KZSU Time Traveler
3. Dec 29, 2023: KZSU Time Traveler
6. Nov 25, 2023: Music Casserole

Album Review
DJ Away
Reviewed 2023-08-12
Americana pulled apart and reconstituted in dusty attics, abandoned lots, and electronics scrapyards. Swampy grooves and Zen-like blues mixed with electronic textures that resemble ghostly radio transmissions, with gnomic verses delivered in a trustworthy rasp. Bandleader Tim Rutili (based in LA) has been perfecting this style for more than 30 years, but on recent records his songs have grown more beautiful and touching, and this album is particularly inviting. (The label's summary: "Like sitting in awe on the porch swing at the end of the world.") His lyrics keep getting better too, and these songs are overflowing with lines many poets would envy. RIYL Sparklehorse, Silver Jews/Purple Mountains, Wilco (who owe a lot to Rutili), Tom Waits, Andy Shauf, Fruit Bats, Greg Mendez. Favorites: 2, 5, 6, 9. FCC WARNING: 1, 7.

1. (4:21)—FCC (f***). Mid-tempo, jaunty. "Drink to the family money, the chemtrails, and the holy grails."
2. *(4:19)—Slow, pretty, drifting, with a minimal downtempo swing. "I was in town for a death in the family / you never left / you started a story that you could not finish / and I waited and waited."
3. (7:46)—Medium-slow, gentle psych-folk. Beach Boys flourishes alternate with noisy grooves. "Sunrise bakes you in a pie / creates you then forgets."
4. (4:18)—Mid-tempo, a little bluegrassy, with lots of subtle noise textures. "Child of the things we never mention / grounded in the tension / and digging up the bones."
5. *(5:09)—Slow, like a deconstructed 70s soft-rock radio hit, with horns and strings and dramatic piano. "Comedy is beginningless time wrapped in newspaper."
6. *(4:11)—Mid-tempo. Evening feel. Brushed drums, organ, great heavy sections and slide guitar touches. "Your fingerprints found all over the scene / hide in the dark while your avatar preens."
7. (4:47)—FCC (f***, s***). Slow, loping. More prominent digital sounds. "You know the halloween decorations are never coming down."
8. (6:19)—Medium-slow, bluesy and swampy. Extended jam on a groove with an undertow, classic Califone. "Always and ever hovering over your shoulder / waiting for the seance to go off the rails."
9. *(4:24)—Medium-slow, with soft guitar and percussion. Tender and lovely, despite references to Blood Meridian and lyrics like "Don't cry, you broke your own heart without anybody else's hand on the hammer."

Track Listing
1. The Habsburg Jaw   5. Comedy
2. Eyelash   6. Ox-Eye
3. Mcmansions   7. Halloween
4. Villagers   8. Skunkish
  9. Sweetly