National, The / First Two Pages Of Frankenstein
Album: First Two Pages Of Frankenstein   Collection:General
Artist:National, The   Added:Apr 2023

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2023-05-14 Pull Date: 2023-07-16
Week Ending: Jul 16 Jul 9 Jul 2 Jun 25 Jun 18 Jun 11 Jun 4 May 28
Airplays: 3 1 1 2 1 1 2 1

Recent Airplay
1. Jul 27, 2023: Stop Making Sense
Once Upon a Poolside (Feat. Sufjan Stevens)
4. Jul 15, 2023: Music Casserole
Your Mind Is Not Your Friend (Feat. Phoebe Bridgers), The Alcott (Feat. Taylor Swift), Eucalyptus
2. Jul 22, 2023: Music Casserole
Send for Me
5. Jul 14, 2023: KZSU Time Traveler
Your Mind Is Not Your Friend (Feat. Phoebe Bridgers)
3. Jul 15, 2023: Hanging In The Boneyard
Once Upon a Poolside (Feat. Sufjan Stevens)
6. Jul 07, 2023: KZSU Time Traveler
The Alcott (Feat. Taylor Swift)

Album Review
Francis D
Reviewed 2023-04-30
“First Two Pages Of Frankenstein” The National
9th studio album from the iconic indie rock band. This is a sad and introspective collection from a group that’s specialized in melancholy, inward-looking music for years. The five band members are widely scattered these days—producing and collaborating with other artists, composing film scores and releasing solo albums (Matt Berninger’s 2020 “Serpentine Prison”). The 11-song set is gentler than other albums from The National and features guest performances from people such as Phoebe Bridgers, Taylor Swift and Sufjan Stevens. By the way, the reference to “Frankenstein” refers to how Berninger overcame debilitating writer’s block by reading the first two pages of classic novels for inspiration. RIYL: Father John Misty, Phosphorescent, John Vanderslice.
— Francis

Recommended: 3, 7, 2, 5, 10, 1. No FCCs detected.

1. (3:37) Once Upon A Poolside (Feat. Sufjan Stevens) — Somber, stately piano ballad. Fragile vocals about divorce. Light orchestra and choral backing. ***
2. (4:25) Eucalyptus — Starts softly, but builds with distorted, guitar-driven tension and a jittery rhythm. About dividing up belongings after a breakup. ****
3. (4:56) New Order T-Shirt — Meandering storytelling vocals over strummed and picked acoustic guitar. Shimmering synths and skittering rhythm. ****
4. (4:05) This Isn’t Helping (Feat. Phoebe Bridgers) — A slow-burning, plodding piano ballad that builds into an anthem. Subtle backing vocals from Bridgers.
5. (5:09) Tropic Morning News — Synth and drum machine-driven pop melody. Distorted guitar in the lead break. ***
6. (4:07) Alien — Layered synth soundscape over a skipping rhythm. Meandering, almost spoken vocals.
7. (4:28) The Alcott (Feat. Taylor Swift) — Halting, haunting piano ballad. Warm harmonies and vocal call-and-response from Swift. Orchestral and chorus backing. ****
8. (3:58) Grease In Your Hair — Propulsive change of pace, growing into a big splashy anthem.
9. (4:17) Ice Machines — Lightly fingerpicked guitar accompanying Berninger’s rich baritone vocals. Thumping drums and orchestra added.
10. (4:24) Your Mind Is Not Your Friend (Feat. Phoebe Bridgers) — Playful piano waltz, twinkling while Berninger, with help from Bridgers, muses about the mind. ***
11. (4:15) Send For Me — Quietly arresting, clock-like lullaby with sustained, airy synths and simple vocals over.

Track Listing
1. Once Upon a Poolside (Feat. Sufjan Stevens)   6. Alien
2. Eucalyptus   7. The Alcott (Feat. Taylor Swift)
3. New Order T-Shirt   8. Grease In Your Hair
4. This Isn't Helping (Feat. Phoebe Bridgers)   9. Ice Machines
5. Tropic Morning News   10. Your Mind Is Not Your Friend (Feat. Phoebe Bridgers)
  11. Send for Me