Sun Ra / Prophet
Album: Prophet   Collection:Jazz
Artist:Sun Ra   Added:Mar 2023
Label:Sundazed Music / Modern Harmonic  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2023-04-24 Pull Date: 2023-06-26 Charts: Jazz
Week Ending: Jun 25 Jun 18 Jun 11 Jun 4 May 21 May 14 May 7 Apr 30
Airplays: 1 1 1 1 2 1 1 2

Recent Airplay
1. Jun 20, 2023: Sound Wheels
The Prophet
4. Jun 03, 2023: Virtually Happy
The Prophet
2. Jun 17, 2023: Music Casserole
The Prophet at Play
5. May 18, 2023: Exploring the ul-A file
The Prophet at Play, Infinity Excursion
3. Jun 10, 2023: Everything
They Plan to Leave, The Prophet Returns
6. May 15, 2023: Brain worm
The Prophet at Play

Album Review
DJ Away
Reviewed 2023-04-24
Sun Ra on synthesizer! This is an uncovered recording from one day in August 1986, when Sun Ra entered a studio decked out with new electronic gear and sat at the Prophet "Vector Synthesizer," an advancement on the Prophet-5 synth. From the liner notes: "Created using microprocessors, a then-new technological advance, under the auspices of engineer Dave Smith in 1978, the Prophet-5 revolutionized electronic music as the first polyphonic and, most importantly, programmable synthesizer." Recommended especially to synth heads, anyone who hangs around CCRMA, and any late-night DJs (or any time really, Sun Ra is relevant 24 hours a day). Favorites: 3, 4. No FCCs detected.

1. (16:29)—Synth wobbles and bleeps and plinks, dragon-breath sounds. Settles into very pleasant organ grooves before a jumpy finish. Sun Ra is mostly if not entirely solo?
2. (1:54)—Solo hand drumming.
3. *(6:34)—Full-band free jazz workout, with the drums taking the center and augmented by synth percussion.
4. *(12:06)—Dramatic space organ, solo synth workout until about eight minutes in, when the full band shows up in equally dramatic fashion. Nice arc to this one.
5. (8:36)—A little studio banter. Mellow full-band jamming, with a little low-key singing from June Tyson near the end.
6. (5:03)—Wobbly synth, group handclaps, marching drum rhythm. Hoarse singing from June Tyson.

Track Listing
1. The Prophet   4. The Prophet Returns
2. Infinity Excursion   5. They Plan to Leave
3. The Prophet at Play   6. They'll Come Back