Chairman Dances, The / Small Comforts
Album: Small Comforts   Collection:General
Artist:Chairman Dances, The   Added:Jan 2023

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2023-02-08 Pull Date: 2023-04-12
Week Ending: Apr 9 Apr 2 Mar 26 Mar 19 Mar 12 Mar 5 Feb 26 Feb 19
Airplays: 1 1 3 1 1 1 2 2

Recent Airplay
1. Jan 12, 2024: KZSU Time Traveler
4. Mar 31, 2023: KZSU Time Traveler
2. Apr 15, 2023: Music Casserole
Everything Slant
5. Mar 24, 2023: KZSU Time Traveler
3. Apr 07, 2023: KZSU Time Traveler
6. Mar 23, 2023: Hanging In The Boneyard
Alone At Waverly

Album Review
Francis D
Reviewed 2023-01-29
“Small Comforts” The Chairman Dances
Contemplative, mostly quiet indie folk rock from the Philadelphia-based five-piece band. 8th full-length album since 2011. Produced and recorded by Daniel Smith (Sufjan Stevens, among others). An intriguing collection of short stories and poems written and set to music by lead singer-songwriter, Eric Krewson. The songs contemplate “nothing out of the ordinary—a phone call, a plum, a chintzy party hat…” according to the liner notes. But from Krewson’s perspective, these “small comforts” are what bring meaning and joy to our lives. RIYL: Sufjan Stevens or laid-back, mystical theatrical tunes.
— Francis

Recommended: 2, 1, 4, 5. No FCCS detected.

1. (5:24) Alone at Waverly — Mid-tempo. Simple, piano- and guitar-based ditty written from the perspective of an older widower living out his later years away from his grown kids. ***
2. (6:36) A Year Spent Floating — Mid- to up-tempo. Playful, piano-based romp, with some electric guitar trappings and harmonized vocals in the chorus — especially rich and nice during the long trail-out. A look back at how every aspect of life changed during the pandemic. ***
3. (5:12) Everything Slant — A free-verse poem set to a glistening guitar-based sound bed with lush vocals and harmonies.
4. (4:30) Small Comforts — Bouncy indie folk pop, with repetitive synth, busy bass line and a trip hop beat. Another original free-verse poem, this time inspired by William Carlos Williams’ poem, To a Poor Old Woman. ***
5. (4:12) Margaret — 50s church choir-like throwback tune. Beautiful, shimmering piano, harpsichord and guitar lullaby. Lovely harmonies. ***
6. (4:23) The Day’s Length — Delicate, dreamy piano and guitar ballad with swelling cymbals and overlapping vocals.
7. (1:02) Log Off — Nice, mostly instrumental close to this thoughtful set of songs. Log off.

Track Listing
1. Alone At Waverly   4. Small Comforts
2. A Year Spent Floating   5. Margaret
3. Everything Slant   6. The Day's Length
  7. Log Off