Dumb / Pray 4 Tomorrow
Album: Pray 4 Tomorrow   Collection:General
Artist:Dumb   Added:Jan 2023
Label:Mint Records Inc.  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2023-01-20 Pull Date: 2023-03-24
Week Ending: Mar 26 Mar 19 Mar 12 Mar 5 Feb 26 Feb 19 Feb 12 Feb 5
Airplays: 2 1 2 1 2 2 2 3

Recent Airplay
1. Mar 24, 2023: KZSU Time Traveler
Pull Me Up
4. Mar 10, 2023: KZSU Time Traveler
Pull Me Up
2. Mar 23, 2023: Down in the Basement
Pull Me Up
5. Mar 09, 2023: Down in the Basement
Pull Me Up
3. Mar 17, 2023: KZSU Time Traveler
Pull Me Up
6. Mar 03, 2023: KZSU Time Traveler
Pull Me Up

Album Review
DJ Stace
Reviewed 2023-01-08
Album / Artist: Pray 4 Tomorrow / Dumb

Label: Mint Records

Release Date: 10/11/2022
Review Date: 1/8/2023
Reviewer: DJ Stace

General Comments / Reviews:

Well crafted post-punk art pop. - DJ Stace

“The Vancouver quartet is restless and ruthless, making rowdy post-punk that questions and analyzes everyday life.” –Stereogum

“Dumb lace their upbeat songs with jagged dissonance to keep things weird.“ –Exclaim!

“The sound is the sort of angular-but-melodic new wave that doesn’t grow old like punk and hardcore did long ago” –Vancouver Sun

Release Notes:

DUMB had a classic start as a DIY outfit back in 2015, playing their first shows in the dining room of a tear-down in east Vancouver. The four band members, Franco Rossino, Shelby Vredik, Pipe Morelli, and Nick Short, were all part of a larger group of friends that jammed and partied together often. Seven years later, the band is set to release their third LP with Mint Records, Pray 4 Tomorrow—self-recorded at Choms, a studio co-owned by Nick Short and Franco Rossino. DUMB has toured extensively in North America and Europe, played with Wolf Parade and Dilly Dally, and are known for their catchy punk rhythms, squealing guitar feedback, and strongly spoken lyrics.

Pray 4 Tomorrow is DUMB’s most refined album to date, but also their most eclectic mix of influences. There’s something for everyone on the album, with two Specials-influenced Ska interpretations, a couple of folk tunes with vocals from bassist Shelby Vredik, and a series of Minor Threat style B-side rants, all enveloped in the unique post-punk sound that the band has honed over the years.

released November 11, 2022

All songs written and produced by Dumb Recorded and mixed by Nick Short at CHOMS Mastered by Elisa Pangsaeng at CPS Mastering All trumpet by Kristy-Lee Audette Vocal harmonies on 30 Degrees written by Alie Lynch Cover art by Bráulio Amado

This project is funded in part by FACTOR, the Government of Canada and Canada’s private radio broadcasters.

FCCs: 8,9

RIYL: Parquet Courts, Bodega, GBV, The Strokes

Play: All but the FCCs, Favs Rated up to *****


1. Foot Control 1:48 - Cool atonal riffs reminiscent of ‘Dirk’ era Adam & the Ants.
2. Gibberish 2:52 - Upbeat Rocker.
3. Excuse Me 2:27 - Wall of Sound-style upbeat rocker reminiscent of early Strokes
4. ***** Pull Me Up 2:56 - Bouncing rocker with a great hook and chorus. Infectious. My Favorite.
5. **** 30 Degrees 2:33 - Another great power jangler, ala Parquet Courts.
6. Strange is the Morning 2:14 - Jangly midtempo (compared to the rest of the album, anyway). A little Big Star-ish.
7. Quarter Stereo 2:33 - Jarring, ass-kicking machine gun rhythm guitars with atonal solos, like a good GBV rocker. Maybe a little repetitive, but still a good track.
8. Dropout FCC “shit” 1:33 - Great horns and driving ska beat.
9. Sleep Like A Baby FCC “shit” 2:10 - Another Squeezesque upbeat ska bouncer.
10. *** Watch This Drive 1:33 - Driving straightforward punk head banger.
11. Out of Touch 1:20 - Brief, thick wall of sound rocker
12. Fully Compromised 1:46 - Sonic continuation of the previous track.
13. Pensar 2:59 - Like thicker Pavement with some Spanish lyrics
14. Desolation 1:23 - Fast, driving 3-chord punk rocker. Would mix well with The Hives.
15. ***** Civic Duty 2:37 - Spare, upbeat, fuzzy, pop anthem. Great riff.
16. 77 2:41 - More Parquet Courts/Bodega style post punk pop. midtempo, plucky.
17. **** Grey Area 1:51 - Great sludgy, fuzzy, midtempo, jangler.
18. The Entertainer 3:19 - Strummy, breathy, midtempo. A bit Ween-ish.

Track Listing
1. Foot Control   10. Watch This Drive
2. Gibberish   11. Out of Touch
3. Excuse Me   12. Fully Compromised
4. Pull Me Up   13. Pensar
5. 30 Degrees   14. Desolation
6. Strange Is the Morning   15. Civic Duty
7. Quarter Stereo   16. 77
8. Dropout   17. Grey Area
9. Sleep Like A Baby   18. Entertainer