Ferrell, Sierra / Long Time Coming
Album: Long Time Coming   Collection:Country
Artist:Ferrell, Sierra   Added:Aug 2022
Label:Rounder Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2022-08-21 Pull Date: 2022-10-23 Charts: Country/Bluegrass
Week Ending: Oct 23 Oct 16 Oct 9 Sep 25 Sep 18 Sep 11 Sep 4 Aug 28
Airplays: 3 3 1 2 2 1 4 3

Recent Airplay
1. Apr 20, 2024: The Iron Skillet
Give It Time
4. Oct 14, 2023: Hanging In The Boneyard
The Sea
2. Mar 23, 2024: The Iron Skillet
Bells Of Every Chapel
5. Aug 09, 2023: That's not Bluegrass
3. Mar 05, 2024: Traditions - Women in folk & country
6. May 13, 2023: The Iron Skillet
Bells Of Every Chapel

Album Review
Mr. Bones
Reviewed 2022-08-11
In LTC Ferrell joins the ranks of young artists trying to save country music by returning to its roots. As appropriate for a West Virginian who grew up poor and spent many years busking around the country, her core style is classic country spiced with bluegrass, latin and jazz styles. Supporting her in this stellar release is an A list of Nashville pickers including Billy Strings, Sarah Jarosz, Jerry Douglas and Tim O’Brien. Even with all this firepower, it is her authentic vocal styling which varies between Loretta Lynn clarity, to a honeyed warble reminiscent of Nellie McKay that really makes this disk shine. Looking for something new that reflects the tradition of Hank, Doc & Patsy, give this disk a spin and play anything, there isn't a sleeper on this disk.

RIYL: Eileen Jewel, Aoife O'donovan

1 The Sea - gypsy jazz vibe with warbly vocals, fiddle and musical saw effects, providing a deep sea feeling (med, 3:33)**

2 Jeremiah - soft, upbeat bluegrass arrangement is great bed for her high-lonesome vocals (fast, 3:04)***

3 Bells Of Every Chapel - lovely old timey western swingy arrangement shows off her lovely vocal styling (med, 4:16)

4 At the End of the Rainbow - Dixieland style with distinctive trombone and clarinet (med, 3:41)**

5 West Virginia Waltz - starts as traditional waltz, builds with horns; Sarah Jarosz on back vocals (slow, 3:34)*

6 Silver Dollar - uptempo with nice, understated banjo backing(fast, 2:06)

7 Far Away Across the Sea - rhumba/mariachi style with great string/horn interplay (fast, 3:18)*

8 Why'd Ya Do It - lively calypso feel latin percussion invites you to Tango(, 3:38)

9 Give It Time - deliriously beautiful classic cowboy love song ala Patsy Cline (med, 3:38)**

10 In Dreams - catchy guitar intro with angelic vocals done in modal harmony (slow, 2:42)***

11 Made Like That - wistful, with stunning vibrato accented vocals (slow, 3:42)***

12 Whispering Waltz - bittersweet tale about betrayal done in slow/dreamy style (slow, 3:22)***

Track Listing
1. The Sea   7. Far Away Across The Sea
2. Jeremiah   8. Why'd Ya Do It
3. Bells Of Every Chapel   9. Give It Time
4. At The End Of The Rainbow   10. In Dreams
5. West Virginia Waltz   11. Made Like That
6. Silver Dollar   12. Whispering Waltz