Bird, Andrew / Inside Problems
Album: Inside Problems   Collection:General
Artist:Bird, Andrew   Added:Jun 2022
Label:Loma Vista  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2022-06-14 Pull Date: 2022-08-16
Week Ending: Aug 14 Aug 7 Jul 31 Jul 24 Jul 17 Jul 10 Jul 3 Jun 26
Airplays: 2 3 2 1 3 2 3 5

Recent Airplay
1. Jan 13, 2023: KZSU Time Traveler
Make A Picture
4. Sep 16, 2022: KZSU Time Traveler
Make A Picture
2. Jan 02, 2023: KZSU Time Traveler
5. Sep 10, 2022: Hanging In The Bone Yard
3. Sep 23, 2022: Hanging In The Bone Yard
Lone Didion
6. Sep 10, 2022: Music Casserole

Album Review
Francis D
Reviewed 2022-06-09
“Inside Problems” Andrew Bird
Distinctive, intelligent indie pop with some folk and occasional Americana leanings. This is Bird’s 14th solo album, his first since 2020’s “Hark!”, a holiday release that followed 2019’s “My Finest Work Yet.” Here, Bird has moved away from examining societal issues, and focuses primarily on what’s inside our hearts and minds. The music is typical Andrew Bird — astonishingly virtuoso performances on his violin, which he plucks, strums and bows like no one else. He also collaborates with a small group of supporting musicians on guitar, bass and drums — as well as Madison Cunningham who provides additional vocals on some tracks. Bird’s one-of-a-kind whistling pops up from time to time as well. All great! RIYL: Father John Misty, The Decemberists, Sufjan Stevens, M. Ward.
— Francis

Very highly recommended: 1, 6, 7, 10, 11, 2, 9, 5, 4. No FCCs detected.

1. (6:14) Underlands — Byrd’s trademark harp-like plucking of his violin leads this whimsical, wry look at the strangeness of these past two years. “What if the earth goes spinning off its axis?” Ample strings and moments of whistling, all backed by a slightly jazzy rhythm. ****
2. (4:23) Lone Didion — Backbeat-flavored tune with pulsing bass, violins, lilting lead vocals, and a fun “lead violin solo” in the play-out. ***
3. (2:58) Fixed Positions — Gentle, acoustic guitar-driven tune. Simple, engaging melody. Female vocals serve as counterpoint to Bird’s. Whistling featured in the middle. Then, orchestra builds toward the end.
4. (4:16) Inside Problems — Beautiful cinematic opening. Emotive vocals, giving way to a playful, breezy melody. Builds throughout. ***
5. (4:06) The Night Before Your Birthday — Veers toward Americana. Confident strut with some rock elements. Nice tempo changes. ***
6. (3:25) Make A Picture — Skipping, snappy pop — up-tempo and catchy, with a driving beat, rich harmonized backing vocals and violin. ****
7. (4:45) Atomized — Syncopated blend of exotic island rhythms and Bird’s plucked violin. Vocals woven into a call-and-response motif with violin riffs. Violin solo in the middle. ****
8. (3:42) Faithless Ghost — Meandering Americana stroll that evolves into a stomp — with thumping beat, orchestral flourishes and backing vocals.
9. (6:48) Eight — Strummed guitar, a steady beat, violins and Bird’s familiar vocals. Another long play-out featuring his incredible musicianship on violin. Yes, this should probably have been track 8, not 9. ☺ ***
10. (3:50) Stop N’ Shop — Hopeful and uplifting tune. Very light and playful, both musically and lyrically. Great backing vocals. Cool bass line and shakers. ****
11. (3:50) Never Fall Apart — Somewhat old-timey style of rock n’ roll. Thumping bass. Almost spoken vocals in places, then rising into Bird’s melodic higher ranges. Strings and nice harmonies in the last minute or so. ***

Track Listing
1. Underlands   6. Make A Picture
2. Lone Didion   7. Atomized
3. Fixed Positions   8. Faithless Ghost
4. Inside Problems   9. Eight
5. The Night Before Your Birthday   10. Stop N' Shop
  11. Never Fall Apart