Tucker, Tanya / Live From the Troubadour
Album: Live From the Troubadour   Collection:Country
Artist:Tucker, Tanya   Added:May 2022
Label:Fantasy Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2022-05-20 Pull Date: 2022-07-22 Charts: Country/Bluegrass
Week Ending: Jul 24 Jul 17 Jul 10 Jul 3 Jun 26 Jun 5
Airplays: 1 1 2 1 2 1

Recent Airplay
1. Sep 30, 2022: Traditions
The Wheels of Laredo
4. Jul 22, 2022: Traditions
Strong Enough to Bend
2. Sep 17, 2022: Music Casserole
Strong Enough to Bend
5. Jul 15, 2022: Traditions
Would You Lay With Me (in a Field of Stone)
3. Jul 29, 2022: Traditions
Mustang Ridge
6. Jul 09, 2022: Hanging In The Bone Yard
Hard Luck

Album Review
Be Sharp
Reviewed 2022-05-11

Here’s Tanya Tucker in concert at LA’s famous Troubadour nightclub on one of a few live dates she did in support of While I’m Livin’ – her 2019 smash comeback album. The record plays like one continuous take on tape. Played straight though, this is an hour of good entertainment. But for the radio DJ, there are some issues: the band plays right through track boundaries, and Tucker’s spoken comments often belong to the previous or to the next track. Nonetheless, there’s worthwhile material here: plenty of good songs, strong performances by Tanya & her band, and entertaining interaction between artist & audience.

FCC clean

Tracks 7-11 & 13 from the album While I’m Livin’ (7-9 & 13 co-written by Brandi Carlile)
Tracks 1- 5 and 14-16 are big hits from Tucker’s early career; track 6 is a weird cover

1 ** “Would You Lay with Me” – tender David Allen Coe ballad about love in tough times, beautifully sung and played. (3:03)
2 “Jamestown Ferry” – story about a mysterious traveler and past flame. (3:05)
3 “What’s Your Mama’s Name, Child” – a man tries to find his illegitimate daughter. (3:06)
4 * “Blood Red & Goin’ Down” – catchy tune about daddy getting revenge on the two men who cheated with mama. (3:41)
5 ** “Strong Enough to Bend” – uplifting song about enduring love; with mandolin intro and nice backing vocals – be prepared to cut off the last 0:45 of talking to audience (3:30)
6 “I’m on Fire / Ring of Fire” – Bruce’s song glued onto Johnny & June’s song. meh (3:50)
7 * “Mustang Ridge” – mid-tempo. catchy tune about running from the law (3:49)
8 ** “The Wheels of Laredo” – slow, gentle storytelling, very well sung (4:04)
9 “I Don’t Owe You Anything” – mid-tempo. amusing goodbye & good riddance to a no-good husband. Not bad but not among the best. Be ready to cut off the last minute. (3:45)
10 “High Ridin’ Heroes” – slow ballad about a woman who’s lived a hard life (3:28)
11 * “Hard Luck” – mid-tempo country rock about getting by on luck & pluck (3:38)
12 Interlude. Spoken comments to the audience. (0:46)
13 “Bring Me Flowers Now” – strong performance of this Grammy winning song but crowd sounds and a spoken cue to her pianist make it less good than the studio version (4:15)
14 “Texas (When I Die)” – rowdy honky-tonk fun, but 2 min is spent on band intros (5:07)
15 “It’s a Little Too Late” – mid-fast & rocking; >3 min spent on spoken thank yous (6:21)
16 “Delta Dawn” – her first hit & signature song. oddly opens w a bit of Amazing Grace, then ruined w a lame audience participation. You can find better versions. (6:05)

Track Listing
1. Would You Lay With Me (in a Field of Stone)   9. I Don't Owe You Anything
2. Jamestown Ferry   10. High Ridin' Heroes
3. What's Your Mama's Name, Child   11. Hard Luck
4. Blood Red and Goin' Down   12. Spoken Interlude
5. Strong Enough to Bend   13. Bring My Flowers Now
6. I'm on Fire / Ring of Fire (Medley)   14. Texas (When I Die)
7. Mustang Ridge   15. It's a Little Too Late
8. The Wheels of Laredo   16. Delta Dawn