Vile, Kurt / (Watch My Moves)
Album: (Watch My Moves)   Collection:General
Artist:Vile, Kurt   Added:May 2022
Label:Verve Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2022-05-20 Pull Date: 2022-07-22
Week Ending: Jul 24 Jul 17 Jul 10 Jul 3 Jun 26 Jun 19 Jun 12 Jun 5
Airplays: 3 2 2 1 5 2 2 3

Recent Airplay
1. Apr 13, 2023: down in the basement
Mount Airy Hill (Way Gone)
4. Jan 13, 2023: KZSU Time Traveler
Flyin (Like A Fast Train)
2. Mar 23, 2023: Down in the Basement
Like Exploding Stones
5. Jan 06, 2023: KZSU Time Traveler
Flyin (Like A Fast Train)
3. Jan 19, 2023: Down in the Basement
Mount Airy Hill (Way Gone)
6. Nov 10, 2022: down in the basement
Mount Airy Hill (Way Gone)

Album Review
suzi boneshaker
Reviewed 2022-05-17
Kurt Vile – (watch my moves)
Reviewed by DJ suzi boneshaker
Alt-rock/folk/indie rock
RIYL: War on Drugs, Kevin Morby, John Prine, Tom Petty, Bob Dylan, Neil Young, Mac DeMarco
9th studio album from the Philly-based Kurt Vile. (watch my moves) was written during the forced isolation of the pandemic, which most definitely affected the tone of his writing, “forcing him to adopt a more optimistic perspective or risk going insane” – quote from Kurt Vile from an article by Sam Kemp of Far Out Magazine.

All tracks are good, my faves are: 1, 2, 4, 5, 6. 8
FCC detected: (track 8: ass)

1. Goin on a Plane Today¬- 2:30 -clean simple bouncy piano, trumpet and tenor saxophone (Sun Ra Arkestra’s James Stewart) join in half way through. Kurt ponders travel and life
2. Flyin (like a fast train) – 5:27 – easy listening track with plenty of room for Kurt’s twangy guitar licks, catchy and lovely tune that feels like you should be cruising on a road or train trip while listening
3. Palace of OKV in Reverse – 2:54 – named after Kurt’s home studio, it’s trippy, mesmerizing with reversed guitar chords and effortless, easy-going drums
4. Like Exploding Stones – 7:22 – Kurt doin what Kurt does best, transforming us into his world of slow but not slow dreamy guitar semi psychedelic licks, feel good easy going, yet somehow slightly edgy tune, also features Sun Ra Arkestra’s James Stewart on tenor saxophone.
5. Mount Airy Hill (Way Gone) – 5:35 slow synth twangy guitar opening and through the song. Feels like a carefree yet slightly retrospective summer day. Kurt hits the vocal high notes and then goes done low right afterwards. Includes slide guitar solo, nice.
6. Hey Like a Child – 5:45- upbeat, toe tapper, but also introspective.
7. Jesus on a Wire – 5:17 – duet with Cate Le Bon, lovely upbeat track. He brings it together as he integrates some of the lyrics from his song Jesus Fever from 2011’s Smoke Ring For My Halo
8. Fo Sho – 4:53 – another toe tappin, rockin, slightly edgy track with strong (not so twangy in the beginning) guitar (chorus includes the word ass “the ass crack of dawn”)
9. Cool Water – 5:06 – pretty, drawling tune with strumming acoustic guitar throughout. Also, a bit slide guitar and piano.
10. Chazzy Don't Mind – 5:33 – another pretty slow song, recorded in the summer of 2021 with members of Chastity Belt, and enhanced by the graceful sweep of a string-section
11. (shiny things) – :58 – quick instrumental track, slow psych noise
12. Say the Word 5:49 – complex, upbeat, rock track
13. Wages of Sin -7:36 - written by Bruce Springsteen, slow, dreamy and a bit melancholy
14. Kurt Runner – 3:18 – Instrumental, a bit warped, moody
15. Stuffed Leopard – 6:39 – ending with a slow, pretty, nostalgic vibe track. Has a little spacey Kurt like noise at the end.

Track Listing
1. Goin On A Plane Today   8. Fo Sho
2. Flyin (Like A Fast Train)   9. Cool Water
3. Palace Of OKV In Reverse   10. Chazzy Don't Mind
4. Like Exploding Stones   11. (Shiny Things)
5. Mount Airy Hill (Way Gone)   12. Say The Word
6. Hey Like A Child   13. Wages Of Sin
7. Jesus On A Wire   14. Kurt Runner
  15. Stuffed Leopard