Setien, Elena / Unfamiliar Minds
Album: Unfamiliar Minds   Collection:General
Artist:Setien, Elena   Added:Mar 2022
Label:Thrill Jockey Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2022-03-23 Pull Date: 2022-05-25 Charts: Classical/Experimental
Week Ending: May 22 May 15 Apr 24 Apr 10 Apr 3 Mar 27
Airplays: 1 1 2 1 2 1

Recent Airplay
1. Aug 20, 2022: Music Casserole
4. Jun 18, 2022: Music Casserole
2. Jul 09, 2022: Music Casserole
5. May 21, 2022: Music Casserole
3. Jul 05, 2022: nearby galaxies
6. May 09, 2022: Begonia Balm

Album Review
Your Imaginary Friend
Reviewed 2022-03-14
Spanish artist. Beautiful sparse ethereal, peaceful, insightful, disturbing, elating. Pianos, tape-loop type effects, samples, accessible experimental. Fans of 4AD (His Name is Alive, et al) and WKCR will like. St Vincent singing alone in the shower? Her Bandcamp sums it up best: Basque artist... shapes the ethereal into immediate on the stunningly pristine songs... command of melody and resolute voice are complemented by lush arrangements that surround the listener in a world of intimate beauty...accomplished multi-instrumentalist, collaborator and improviser, having worked with artists like Mary Lattimore and Steve Gunn as well as composing for film and television...Setién reflects on isolation, confusion and harnesses uncertainty with optimism on ten ghostly wonders that capture ineffable feelings in radiant detail.

Play any, or start with 10, 5, 1, 2, 7. Last few songs are more “song-like”.

1) (3:36) slow piano, trippy, lovely 2) (3:01) simple pensive piano with melodic vocs, disturbing TV type samples, lyrics 3) (4:04) a beautiful Eno/Budd quality about this, LA vocoder voice effect appears 4) (2:29) sparse, heavy on spoken word 5) (3:45) trippy pulsing electro chill with spoken type singing a la vocoder L. Anderson, “such a drag to be alone” 6) (3:47) very simple and melodic 7) (2:32) cool 70’s maestro phase shifter effect. 8) (3:10) more of a “song” feel with guitar strumming, verse chorus 9) (3:04) guitar strum steps up 10) (4:58) almost an introspective ballad quality, cool distorted fender Rhodes piano tone

Track Listing
1. 2020   6. In This Short Life
2. Situation   7. This Too Will Pass
3. I Dwell in Possibility   8. Unfamiliar Minds
4. New   9. No Trace
5. Such a Drag   10. Water