Lee, Cody / Woodpecker Crisis
Album: Woodpecker Crisis   Collection:General
Artist:Lee, Cody   Added:Jan 2022

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2022-04-01 Pull Date: 2022-06-17
Week Ending: May 29 May 22 May 15 Apr 17 Apr 10
Airplays: 2 1 1 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Aug 11, 2022: Hanging In The Boneyard
New Normal
4. Jul 16, 2022: Music Casserole
2. Jul 28, 2022: Hanging In The Boneyard
New Normal
5. Jul 14, 2022: Hanging In The Boneyard
3. Jul 23, 2022: Music Casserole
6. Jul 06, 2022: Hanging In The Bone Yard

Album Review
Mr. Bones
Reviewed 2022-01-22
In his 4th release, industry veteran Cody Lee (Peter Green, The Dictators, Joan Jett...) serves up a mesmerizing release that explores the Covid driven strange times we are living in. Stylistically it ranges from warm & folky in California to hypnotic, Leonard Cohen inspired styling in tracks like New Normal. The common denominator in this disperate mix is Lee's laconic, yet intriguing vocals that are guaranteed (almost) to catch your ear regardless of whether he's channeling Glen Campbell in California or David Johansen in Nobody. As such it would play well in Indie & Americana themed shows.

RIYL: Leonard Cohen, JJ Cale, New York Dolls (sic)
FCC: #5

1 New Normal - spooky guitar, funky horns, syncopated beat and L. Cohen styled vocals (med, 3:21)**
2 Bad Things Happen - slow & wistful contemplation on the vagaries of life with captivating piano break (slow, 3:22)***
3 Nashville - slow slide on this celebration of troubadours trying to make it in Music City (slow, 3:27)***
4 Ruin - spare & haunting with unique vocal layering & backing guitar (med, 3:31)**
5 Drowning - dystopian story of the decline of western civilization (slow, 4:17) FCC
6 Be Tonight - spooky instrumental set mood for this breakup song (med, 3:47)
7 California - americana/folk styled ode to the Golden State with nice orchestration (slow, 4:23)***
8 Nobody - powerful intro on this nihilistic, uptempo post-punk rocker reminiscent of the New York Dolls (fast, 3:52)***
9 Goodnight - wistful & jazzy, acoustic bass lets his baritone vocals shine ala Mose Allison (slow, 3:23)***

Track Listing
1. New Normal   5. Drowning
2. Bad Things Happen   6. Be Tonight
3. Nashville   7. California
4. Ruin   8. Nobody
  9. Goodnight