Spookfish, The / Pumpkin Beats 2
Album: Pumpkin Beats 2   Collection:General
Artist:Spookfish, The   Added:Mar 2020
Label:Lily Tapes & Discs  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2020-08-17 Pull Date: 2020-10-19 Charts: Classical/Experimental

Recent Airplay
1. Mar 11, 2021: Rebroadcast: Magnetized Toner
Black Ghost With Red Eyes (Piano)
2. Aug 27, 2020: Magnetized Toner
Black Ghost With Red Eyes (Piano)

Album Review
DJ Away
Reviewed 2020-04-01
Lo-fi, rustic, mostly ambient instrumental miniatures from Hudson Valley, New York. There's a melancholic, naturalistic feel to this, matching the artist's past work organizing shows that involved daylong hikes with breaks for music sets at scenic points. There aren't many beats on this brief album (if you're about to say, "I got taken for a ride," see track 2 and part of 5), but it's quite lovely and charming. RIYL Sebadoh, Ricky Eat Acid, Naps, Terrors, Lung Cycles, Ylayali. Favorites: 1, 5, 6, 8. No FCCs detected.

1. *(2:10)—Truth in advertising: it's piano! Very pretty, lots of tape hiss.
2. (2:57)—Mid-tempo, blown-out beat. Woozy organ.
3. (1:34)—Deep, downer acoustic guitar strumming. Off-kilter keyboard.
4. (1:43)—Lo-fi keyboard melodies.
5. *(2:37)—Soft guitar strumming. Vocals! Subtle warped keyboard effects. Bass-heavy beat at the very end.
6. *(2:45)—Shuddering synth, dreamy and pastoral, slightly unsettled.
7. (1:37)—Simple, pleasant guitar fingerpicking.
8. *(7:27)—Wobbling, whooshing synth sounds. Soft guitar. RIYL Pistachio Graveyard, Fairborn Brothers. Maybe there's a monotron?

Track Listing
1. Black Ghost With Red Eyes (Piano)   5. Hiding From Them
2. Oaf   6. Graveyard
3. Drew   7. Petting a Dog
4. Path   8. In the Dark