Tame Impala / Slow Rush, The
Album: Slow Rush, The   Collection:General
Artist:Tame Impala   Added:Feb 2020
Label:Modular Recordings  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2020-02-26 Pull Date: 2020-07-22
Week Ending: Mar 15 Mar 8 Mar 1
Airplays: 5 7 2

Recent Airplay
1. Mar 12, 2024: The Mystery Machine
Is It True
4. Mar 09, 2023: Down in the Basement
Instant Destiny
2. Sep 28, 2023: down in the basement
Lost in Yesterday
5. Dec 23, 2021: Magnetized Toner: Best of 2020 Part III (rebroadcast from Jan 28, 2021)
Breathe Deeper
3. Mar 16, 2023: emergency meeting
One More Hour
6. Dec 09, 2021: Magnetized Toner (rebroadcast from Sep 3, 2020)
Breathe Deeper

Album Review
Reviewed 2020-02-24
Phaser-drenched psychedelic rock. The fourth full-length from Australian multi-instrumentalist multi-everything Kevin Parker. He’s had quite the glo up, going from the dude your one edgy friend in Columbae tried to throw on the AUX cable one hazy afternoon to Coachella headliner in the span of 10 years. Parker has swapped out most of the project’s teeth-grinding guitarwork in favor of more mellow synths and slick studio production. The result is less trippy and less euphoric than Currents, but makes up with it with shrewd lyrical content, a wider breadth of instrumentation, and soaring production that somehow continues to improve with each release. RIYL: Pond, John Lennon, King Gizzard and the Glitter Wizard, Temples, Mild High Club All tracks FCC Clean. TRY: 8, 9, 1, 12

(*1.) (5:24) Churning beat, existentialist lyrics, vivid instrumentation, fabulously arranged (2.) (3:15) Grand, phaser-soaked instrumentation, carnivalesque synths, soaring falsettos (3.) (3:58) Lead single. Simple bouncy keyboard with soft vocals over a 4/4 beat that builds in intensity (4.) (6:06) Mid tempo, huge synth lines, reflects on the death of his father (5.) (6:13) Funky groove with confessional lyrics (6.) (5:27) Staccato snares, bouncy bongos, plucked acoustic guitar, crooned distorted vocals (7.) (5:02) Epic piano chords, slow blossoms of distortion, glittery chimes, and introspective lyrics. Tons of left-right panning gives this an extra psychedelic edge (*8.) (4:10) Sweeping head-rush psychedelic rock. Bouncy bass melodies and sweet vocals give it that classic Tame Impala sound. (*9.) (3:59) Sunny and groovy. Infectious layered sound straight out of the Steely Dan playbook. Awesome jazzy elements in the bridge and shuddering synth stabs to keep the party going (10.) (4:33) Lo-fi midcareer ballad about the aging process. Vocals-forward, but has a lot of great synth lines in there too (11.) (2:09) Conversational intro leads into discoey synth pop beat with Nile Rodgers-esque guitar flourishes and heavily washed-out vocals (*12.) (7:13) Epic, emotional outro. Tons of dynamic shifts. Orchestral elements, crashing guitars, smashed cymbals, the works

Track Listing
1. One More Year   7. On Track
2. Instant Destiny   8. Lost in Yesterday
3. Borderline   9. Is It True
4. Posthumous Forgiveness   10. It Might Be Time
5. Breathe Deeper   11. Glimmer
6. Tomorrow's Dust   12. One More Hour