Egge, Ana / Is It The Kiss
Album: Is It The Kiss   Collection:Country
Artist:Egge, Ana   Added:Jan 2020
Label:Story Sound Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2020-02-05 Pull Date: 2020-05-20 Charts: Country/Bluegrass
Week Ending: Mar 15 Mar 8 Mar 1 Feb 23 Feb 16
Airplays: 1 2 2 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Jul 06, 2022: Hanging In The Bone Yard
Teacake And Janey
4. Nov 08, 2021: Hanging in the bone yard
Ballad Of The Poor Child
2. Jun 25, 2022: Hanging In The Bone Yard
Teacake And Janey
5. Nov 01, 2021: Hanging in the bone yard
Teacake And Janey
3. Jan 01, 2022: Hanging in the bone yard (rebroadcast from Jan 2, 2021)
Teacake And Janey
6. Jan 02, 2021: Hanging in the bone yard
Teacake And Janey

Album Review
Mr. Bones
Reviewed 2020-01-12
In her 11th album, Egge once again demonstrates the masterful song craft that prompted Steve Earl to comment that she sounds 'like she’s telling us her deepest, darkest secrets' on this disk. Her story telling is deftly complemented by an ambidextrous band that includes flute, bass clarinet, trombone, flugabone, trumpet, pedal steel, violin, and pump organ on top of a crack rhythm section. In toto they provide just enough spice to Egge’s enchanting vocal styling to provide a sound that is reminiscent of Joni Mitchell doing For Free.

RIYL: Joni Mitchell, Eliza Gilkyson, Norah Jones
FCC: clean (violation on #9 removed)

Cocaine Cowboys - sweet & gentle ode to the likes of Hank & Patsy with a great clarinet accent & Iris DeMent helping out (slow, 3:56)
What Could Be – enchanting vocals, syncopated rhythm & playful horns (med, 3:11)
Oh My My – soft vocal start building with haunting slide & bass guitars giving it a jazzy vibe later on(slow, 3:20)
Ballad of the Poor Child – sad duet with Iris Dement & Alex Hargreaves on fiddle (slow, 3:01)
Hurt A Little – laconic vocals with interesting with intriguing clarinet, bass & guitar arrangement with a message of persevering through hardship (2:45, med)
Teacake And Janey – tragic tale based on characters from Their Eyes Were Watching God by Zora Hurston with exquisite vocal, fiddle & clarinet interplay (3:40, med)
James - (slow, 2:50)
Rise Above – anti-hate song delivered with lovely vocals over a syncopated jazzy rhythm section (med, 2:52)
Stay The Night – sweet clarinet and horns complement this laconic invitation to ‘sleep over’ (med, 2:36)
Chasing Rabbits In The Sun - (slow, 2:55)


Track Listing
1. Cocaine Cowboys   6. Teacake And Janey
2. What Could Be   7. James
3. Oh My My   8. Rise Above
4. Ballad Of The Poor Child   9. Stay The Night
5. Hurt A Little   10. Chasing Rabbits