Jpegmafia / All My Heroes Are Cornballs
Album: All My Heroes Are Cornballs   Collection:Hip-hop
Artist:Jpegmafia   Added:Nov 2019
Label:Self Release  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2019-12-19 Pull Date: 2020-02-20 Charts: Hip-Hop, Classical/Experimental
Week Ending: Feb 23 Feb 9 Feb 2 Jan 26 Jan 19 Dec 29
Airplays: 1 1 1 1 2 1

Recent Airplay
1. Oct 11, 2022: Alien Hour
All My Heroes Are Cornballs
4. Feb 18, 2022: Everything in Particular
Free The Frail (Feat. Helena Deland
2. Mar 06, 2022: Alien Hour
5. Aug 20, 2021: Get Punk'd (rebroadcast from Jan 14, 2020)
Jesus Forgive Me, I Am A Thot
3. Feb 28, 2022: Everything in Particular (rebroadcast from Feb 18, 2022)
Free The Frail (Feat. Helena Deland
6. Feb 18, 2020: Get Punk'd
Free The Frail (Feat. Helena Deland

Album Review
Reviewed 2019-12-03
Intriguing, spastic, stream-of-conscious rap. The third album from JPEGMafia, punkish #Internet cult favorite and “self-hating millennial.” His first two albums were released on the eternally relevant Deathbomb Arc, so you know he’s the real deal. Tackling the complexities of race, class, and sexuality in an internet age, these 18 songs are immediate and gripping. The social commentary is dark and weighty but burrowed under witty “I don’t know if he’s kidding or not” layers of humor that make it all the more interesting. The production is experimental, sample-heavy, and amazingly all self-produced. Don’t sleep on this one. RIYL: Deathgrips, Slowthai, Doseone, Danny Brown, Injury Reserve (All tracks are great but watch the FCCs. NOTE: Tracks 1, 3, 13 and 18 are edited to be radio clean.)

(*1.) (2:36) Floaty psychedelic production, tongue in cheek gospel meets kaleidoscopic internet age stream-of consciousness (2.) (3:01) (FCC) Chimey instrumental, commentary on race and the music industry (*3.) (3:18) Loopy beat, addresses internet anonymity and masculinity (4.) (0:54) (FCC) Short experimental instrumental. Noisy and experimental with chopped vocal snippets (5.) (2:55) (FCC) Floaty production, abstract romance song about anime girls and guns (6.) (2:28) (FCC) Aggressive and trauma-laced (7.) (2:47) (FCC) Jazzy synthy commentary on kids left behind during No Child Left Behind legislation (8.) (3:23) (FCC) Bouncy with 8-bit elements. Dissects the contemporary conceptions of heroes/icons (9.) (1:36) (FCC) Chill production with bars about JPEGMafia as the “Black Brian Wilson.” (10.) (2:42) (FCC) Punkish, slamming percussion and spastic yelling (11.) (1:01) (FCC) Lazy chillwave rap about Jamaican Sorrel (12.) (2:50) (FCC) Gender reversal abstract love song covering sex, internet trolling, race in the NBA—what more could you want? (*13.) (3:30) Left-field love song. Acoustic guitar elements with guest vocals from Helena Deland (*14.) (3:35) (FCC) Explores post-fame “verified” life and social mobility via gunplay metaphors. Great song structure—lots of beat switchups and interludes (15.) (1:15) Deconstructive cover of “No Scrubs” by TLC. Won’t make sense till you hear it, and when you do you’ll love it (16.) (2:08) Razor sharp braggadocio over futuristic video gamey production (17.) (1:09) Grimy piano-heavy beat (*18.) (4:02) Mid-career reflective rap confronting racism. Rugged flow over a slow, spooky, swollen bassline

Track Listing
1. Jesus Forgive Me, I Am A Thot   10. Prone!
2. Kenan Vs. Kel   11. Lifes Hard, Here's A Song About Sorrel
3. Beta Male Strategies   12. Thot Tactics
4. Jpegmafia Type Beat   13. Free The Frail (Feat. Helena Deland
5. Grimy Waifu   14. Post Verified Lifestyle
6. Ptsd   15. Basicbitchteargas
7. Rap Grow Old & Die X No Child Left Behind   16. Dots Freestyle Remix (Feat. Buzzy Lee And Abdu Ali)
8. All My Heroes Are Cornballs   17. Buttermilk Jesus Type Beat
9. Bbw   18. Papi I Missed U