Diiv / Deceiver
Album: Deceiver   Collection:General
Artist:Diiv   Added:Nov 2019
Label:Captured Tracks  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2019-11-09 Pull Date: 2020-01-11
Week Ending: Jan 12 Dec 29 Dec 22 Dec 8 Dec 1 Nov 24 Nov 17
Airplays: 1 1 1 2 1 2 4

Recent Airplay
1. Nov 25, 2020: The Fuzz Deli
The Spark
4. Jan 08, 2020: The Fuzz Deli
2. Aug 20, 2020: Stranded at Settembrini's
For The Guilty
5. Dec 28, 2019: On The Warpath
For The Guilty
3. Jul 01, 2020: The Fuzz Deli
Skin Game
6. Dec 18, 2019: The Library

Album Review
Super Chuck
Reviewed 2019-11-01
This mindset can work in two ways, one offering its benefits and its counterpart posing debilitating struggle. If anyone can begin fathoming these contrasts, it’s DIIV’s Zachary Cole Smith. Throughout his long and unforgiving battle with addiction, Smith, since having come to terms with his existence has reemerged not just with perspective, but more so having experienced an intrinsic shift. Deceiver certainly demonstrates that DIIV have committed to a change in style. It’s grungier, building rich passages of thrilling distortion into their usual dream pop and shoegaze.

Like: My Bloody Valentine, Slowdive, Sonic Youth, Deafheaven

FCC: 1,5

Play: 3, 6, 9

1.Horsehead (5:08) Indie rock grooves, catchy lead guitars, tasteful bridges, a contemporary shoegaze track.
2.Like Before You Were Born (3:04) Tight, crisp, great mid-tempo rocker that keeps no secrets in its lyricism.
3.Skin Game (4:25) Perfect marriage of late-era Sonic Youth and DIIV’s gorgeous harmonies.
4.Between Tides (4:43) lovely double tracked vocals with grinding guitars that overtake the song.
5.Taker (4:28) Unhurried song about owning up bounces back and forth between washes of guitar uproar.
6.For the Guilty (3:39) Swelling bass-heavy grungy guitars.
7.The Spark (3:59) Driving instrumentals forward just before it explodes off the line.
8.Lorelei (3:58) Hark back to the early '90s grunge bands.
9.Blankenship (3:56) Surging groove and liquid arpeggios are classic-sounding DIIV.
10.Acheron (7:08) Constantly changing dynamics, switching from breathy lyrics to wall of sound jams.

Track Listing
1. Horsehead   6. For The Guilty
2. Like Before You Were Born   7. The Spark
3. Skin Game   8. Lorelei
4. Between Tides   9. Blankenship
5. Taker   10. Acheron