Zookeeper Online

Find It!
Classic Search
Recent Reviews
DJ Zone!
Playlists by Date
Airplay Charts
Submit Music
Surf Curse / Heaven Surrounds You
Album:Heaven Surrounds You Collection:General
Artist:Surf Curse Added:Oct 2019
Label:Danger Collective Records 

A-File Activity
Add Date:2019-10-30 Pull Date:2020-01-01 
Week Ending:Dec 29Dec 22Dec 15Dec 8Dec 1Nov 24Nov 10Nov 3

 Recent Airplay
1.Apr 17, 2022:Lunar Echoes
4.Dec 28, 2019:On The Warpath
2.Feb 10, 2020:good boy sweater
Maps To The Stars
5.Dec 27, 2019:KZSU Time Traveler
3.Jan 26, 2020:Alphabet Soup
6.Dec 21, 2019:On The Warpath
Maps To The Stars

Album Review
Christian Badillo
Reviewed 2019-10-30 
Indie rock jams that are really consistent. A good album overall with some solid ones, but certainly more indie and less rock than their previous releases Buds and Sad Boys. Some may like this departure and some may not.

Recommended: 3, 4, 6 (FCC), 8
FCC’s: 6, 9*, 10
RIYL: Turnover, DIIV, Car Seat Headrest

1. Maps to the Stars (2:39) *** - Fast drums, rhythm guitar, and lead picking with extended vocal harmonies.
2. Labyrinth (3:09) ** - Simple lyrics with upbeat instrumentation. Instruments only past 1:33.
3. Disco (2:33) *** - Good for dancing! Pretty repetitive with a 4 on the floor outro.
4. River’s Edge (3:34) *** - Slower, soulful, and somber.
5. Midnight Cowboy (3:17) ** - Similar to track 1.
6. Hour of the Wolf (3:06) *** - Sad vocals and slightly dissonant guitar chords. Good riffage. FCC (shitty).
7. Dead Ringers (2:39) ** - Quick with extra chorus and reverb.
8. Safe (2:11) **** - Deep lyrics about loneliness and anxiety with a pace to match.
9. Memory (2:30) *** - Interesting guitar with bright synth. Possible FCC* (so damn good).
10. Opera (4:33) *** - Whipping out the acoustic! Lots of death and dying in this duet. FCC (fuck).
11. Trust (2:48) ** - Quick with many ooh’s. Strings come in between vocals.
12. Jamie (4:59) *** - Ending on a happy note. The portion after 1:50 makes it interesting. More than half of this track is a complete crescendo!

Track Listing
1.Maps To The Stars 7.Dead Ringers
2.Labyrinth 8.Safe
3.Disco 9.Memory
4.River's Edge 10.Opera
5.Midnight Cowboy 11.Trust
6.Hour Of The Wolf 12.Jamie